Iona Guthrie's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iona’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 20, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • High School Graduate (2016)
  • From London, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like to think that I live with an open mind as I love meeting people and realising new perspectives. I continually reflect and re-evaluate the way I live and I can see where my closest friends/family have influenced my character. Sometimes being too reflective can make me a little fickle because I over question what I really want, but mostly it has taught me to feel happier by adapting to make the most of situations.

One of my favourite quotes is, 'Teach us to care and not to care, teach us to sit still'. Recently I am trying to take a more 'mindful' approach to life, in order to de-clutter stressful thoughts about the past and future, living with more attention to what matters in the present. I am new to meditation, but it is beginning to let me harness control and confidence over situations I fear or view negatively.

I love singing and song writing and feel in my element whilst practising music or listening to a concert/festival. I get the same adrenaline rush right before I am about to travel somewhere.

I am currently taking a gap year and have been working in Melbourne for nearly four months. Before I return to the UK to start university I will travel around Australia's East Coast beginning at Byron Bay up to Port Douglas.
Unfortunately i cannot host anyone whilst in Melbourne, but am very keen to meet up with other travellers!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the free-flowing system couchsurfing offers and the idea of getting to know your host by sharing experiences...no matter how different you are! I have met a few travellers who used couch surfing and was inspired by how quickly they made friends with their hosts! Therefore over March I hope to do the same thing as I explore Queensland:)

Interests

  • singing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • running
  • reading
  • guitar
  • piano
  • violin
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • films

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC
(I love many genres of music so this is really difficult to narrow down!)

The Beatles, Ed Sheeran, The Kooks, Mumford and Sons, Paramore, Taylor Swift, Rihanna, Joni Mitchell, The Lumineers, Chopin, Vivaldi, Beethoven, Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, Franz Lizt, Sundara Karma, Foals, Imagine Dragons, Everything Everything, The Academic, Laura Marling, Johnny Flynn, Ludovico Einaudi, Yann tiersen, Julien Baker, The XX, Milky Chance, Coldplay, Catfish and The Bottlemen, Gang of Youths

BOOKS
The Kite Runner, Perks of being a Wallflower, High Fidelity, Life of Pi, A Room with a View, Atonement, One Day, The Time Traveller's Wife, Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Virgin Blue, 'Do/Breathe/Calm your Mind. Find Focus. Get Stuff Done.', 'Do/Design Why beauty is Key to Everything'

FILMS
10 Things I Hate About you, Vicky Christina Barcelona, The Prestige, The Dark Knight, Hot Fuzz, A Hard Day's Night, Eight Days a Week, Leap Year, Good Will Hunting, Before The Flood

MUSICALS
West Side Story, Les Miserables, Oliver Twist, My Fair Lady

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moving to Australia for 6 months is probably the bravest thing I have done so far. I began an internship at an architect firm after high school without experience studying. The confidence I have gained from creating a new lifestyle, interacting with people in an office and beginning new friendships in Melbourne will be a skill that I'll carry with me when I decide to live outside the UK again in the future.

I can't wait to travel around the East Coast...but unfortunately I can't write about that until I've really seen it! :D

Teach, Learn, Share

I began learning classical music at an early age through playing the violin and piano. I love to sing with the guitar too and would be open to teaching people how to read music or pick up an instrument. Of course, I am also enthusiastic to pick up musical tips from anyone else that I meet!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I think playing music with other people is one of the best feelings in the world and seems like an ideal way to spend an evening whilst travelling. I really want to try yoga at night time too...i just think it would be really cool with other people haha! Other than that, I love to cook and have some healthy and cheap vegetarian recipes I can show you:)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Croatia, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Iona’s full profile. It’s free!