Ion Maleas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ion’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Greek (modern), Spanish; learning French, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • full time something
  • architecture and territorial research
  • From athens, greece
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

the 4 L's : Live, Love, Laugh, Learn! (not always in that order)

ABOUT ME

I like to think i'm an open-minded person, very social, and i love a good laugh. since i was very young i had the incredible luck to live in different countries and travel very much, getting to know first hand how diverse the world is, understand and respect different cultures and believes. this has also helped form my social-political views on this world. i believe in the importance of everyone's political being, since we are all (whether we like it or not) part of the same society. how you participate is always an issue.
I studied architecture and really liked it. working it isn't as fun..
All forms of art appeal to me a great deal, but what dominates is music. I play the guitar, a little bit of piano, bit of drums, and sing. i am also an cinema enthusiast, and love photography. theater, literature, painting, sculpture... anything at all!
I'm currently living in Marseille with my partner Semina, we're both working in different universities and enjoying life in France!

PHILOSOPHY

I don't remember who said that: "Our attitude toward life determines life's attitude towards us."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

host... travel... meet people, make friends. exchange experiences and knowledge. give to a community without asking in return. share what you can. a roof over our heads and some time together, is a good start.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted, and I've been hosted alot.. I still cant decide what I prefer.. but I can easily say i enjoy both TOO much!

Interests

all art is something that interests me. but i would say that music first, and then cinema are two things i'm really crazy about.
also: political and social movements, activism, assemblies, squats, etc. i actively participate and spend a lot of time learning.
I also enjoy sports from time to time (playing more than watching). rock climbing especially; then football, tennis or anything really..

  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • singing
  • theater
  • architecture
  • photography
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • rock climbing
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I strongly believe that there is something to gain (as an observer) from every artistic expression. therefore i try to listen, see, read anything I can get my hands on. as an indication:
-music: Tom Waits, Radiohead, Mulatu Astatke, Ali Faka Toure, Fela Kuti, the Books, Portico Quartet, Brian Eno, Anthony and the Johnsons, Pink Floyd, David Bowie, Led Zep, Andrew Bird, Sigur Ros, John Coltrane, Django Reinghart, Bon Iver, Leonard Cohen, John Frusciante, Sin Fang Bous, Red Snapper, Bonobo, Portishead, etc...
-movies (directors): Fellini, Kieslowski, Godard, Woody Allen, Wong Kar Wai, Tarantino, Cohen bros., Takeshi Kitano, etc..
-books: A.Camus "the Stranger", M.Kuntera "the Unbearable lightness of Being", L.Pirandello "Six Characters in Search of an Author", I.Calvino "Invisible Cities", Guy Debord "the Society of the Spectacle", J.Kerouac "On the Road", etc...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Climbing on the "kings pathway", at more than a 100m hight, in the gorge of "el Chorro" in andalucia, spain.

- In 2015 I traveled to Nepal, and worked as a volunteer worker in response to the 25th of April earthquake. I spent a month in Kathmandu valley building and teaching alternative self-building techniques.

Teach, Learn, Share

thirsty to learn anything you can teach me. especialy about music, cinema, anything about your own culture and believes, political/social situations of your country (or any you have experienced).
Currently really trying to learn French!
could teach english, greek, basic spanish, a little bit of guitar, basic juggling..
could definitely teach introduction to climbing, and if you're interested in eco-friendly building with natural materials, we need some land and could teach that too!
could share anything on my hard disc of music or movies. i'd love anything you'd like to give me as well...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Greece, Libya, Saudi Arabia, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Ion’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups