Accepting Guests

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gio’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 116 References 79 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Italian, Spanish; learning Dutch
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Entrepeneur and Researcher, bringing science closer to pe...
  • PhD in Electrical Engineering (but doing something useful...
  • From Rome
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Enthusiastic, eclectic and extroverted – wow, I am really an e-person! Meet me if you have stories to share and you want to hear about my life in six countries and my new job as en entrepeneur. And ask for my couch if you want to get up with the view of a beautiful Dutch canal, the noise of the ducks, the smell of baked bread and the taste of home-made almond milk (yes, it is possible)

Random things I like: physical activity of any sort, farmer's market, random facts. I think I will never stop trying new things. The last one? Joggling, which means juggling while jogging. I know, there are weird people in the world :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting to people, is that enough? As you see from my reference list, I hosted and surfed dozens of times, and all of them were great experiences!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE (to be updated...)

CSurfers hosted:- Pablo (Chile)- Merel (The Netherlands)- Liz (Long Island, NY),- Sergi (Spain)- Chris (Greece)- Anjana (Berkeley, USA)- Nancy (Austin, USA) X 2- Eva (Austin, TX)- Eric (Pittsburgh, PA)- Nacho (Spain)- Tom (Saint Louis, MO)- Paul (UK) - Nancy (Austin, TX)- Murray (Canada)- Aurelie (France)- Sara (Italy)- Greg (Northern California, CA) - Juan Pablo (Spain) - Marcel (Germany) - Hadewijch (Brugge, Belgium) - Lauren (Massachusetts, USA) - Laura (Connecticut, USA) - Liz (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) - Carolina (Hamburg, Germany) CSurfers surfed:- Schertle family (San Jose, CA)- Marco (Berkeley, CA)- Amy (St. Louis, MO)- Annard (Nice, France)- Vale & Billy (Genoa, Italy)- Milan (Budapest, Hungary)- Agnes (Budapest, Hungary)- Eva & Andras (Budapest, Hungary)- Astrid (Vienna, Austria)- Helga (Vienna, Austria)- Kerstin (Graz, Austria)- Nina (Slovenska Bistrica, Slovenia)- Urska (Ljubljana, Slovenia)- Lide (Vitoria, Spain)- Maite (Irun, Spain)- Amanda&Joseba (San Sebastian, Spain) - Edorta (Larrabetzu, Spain) - Patxi&Urko (Bilbao, Spain)- Koldo&Gosia (Bilbao, Spain) - Alex (Bilbao, Spain) - Luis Mari (Pamplona, Spain) - Amaya&Diego (Logroño, Spain) - Noe (Burgos, Spain) - Rebekah&Patrick (Moratinos, Spain) - Montsant (Reus, Spain) - Nicolas (Turin, Italy) - Kate&Simo (Turin, Italy) - Markus&Evelyn (Luzern, Switzerland) - Renia (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) - Jim&Linda (Utrecht, The Netherlands) - Christine (Innsbruck, Austria) - Daniel (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - Karel (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - Graham (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - Marjoline (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - Piero (Eindhoven, the Netherlands) - Bertand (Ghent, the Belgium) - Hadewijch (Brugge, Belgium) - Francesca and Fabio (Monza, Italy) - Vala and

Interests

I am very eclectic! I love travels (obviously) and people (even more obvious), languages, outdoor sport, bicycles, foreign politics, sociology, grammar, literature, TED talks and a bunch of more things. Tests say that I am an ENTP personality.

I am fascinated by useless and irrelevant information, and this is why I love reference books (NYT almanac, dictionaries, encyclopedias etc.). I collect flags! Please, bring me one from your country/state/region/town

  • culture
  • books
  • literature
  • dining
  • picnic
  • walking
  • boating
  • politics
  • juggling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • languages
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I like contemporary history, literature from last century, travel books, and reference books.
Music and movies: a bit of everything, Spotify and libraries are my best friends.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lofoten Islands, Norway, summer 1999: I was with three friends in a boat going from island to island trying to catch the midnight sun. The boat was taken over by the submarine streams out of my route... Watching the sunset/sunrise while we were going further and further from our destination, and towards the ocean, was very fascinating (and dangerous)

Northern Lights, Iceland 2014

Kosovo, right after the war. I was there with Engineers Without Borders to set up a computer lab. Those kids, now young adults, had in their eyes the fear and the hope at the same time.

Saint Jean Pie De Port - Finisterre: Camino de Santiago, Spring 2012. 850+ km walking and hiking in Northern Spain.

Rotterdam 2013: a picnic at Kralingen Plas during a sunny Fall day

Rotterdam 2015: riding all around Rotterdam with a great CS sitting on my bike!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you Italian, Spanish, and Catalan + basic juggling techniques. And of course, Dutch culture, since I am a proud host of this wonderful country.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Fun, food, and facts – gosh, now I am an f-person. But also languages, juggling and bike rides.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    14 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gio’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups