Irina Dumitrascu's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Irina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 106 References 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Romanian, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Portuguese
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • web developer, acting student, city biker, trekker, frie...
  • engineering; music, dancing and acting; mountaneering & t...
  • From Bucharest, Romania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live in the moment. Stay connected to myself. Live with passion.

ABOUT ME

I like to be serene and to look at the bright side; I'm introverted, so sometimes I am quiet, sometimes I am very talkative. I prefer to discuss reaI, tangible things rather than very abstract ideas. I have a lot of energy when doing the stuff that I like - biking, sports, trekking, playing games, cooking. My schedule is flexible and chaotic - I care about getting things done, and also about enjoying myself... so, sometimes I would work late at night, because I had something better to do during the day :)

PHILOSOPHY

Be myself, do what I truly want. Get inspired by others. Accept that I cannot do everything at once. Cal down. Make partnerships. Be kind. Enjoy the moment. Listen. Relax. Improvise. Dare. Grow.

I like 'Wear sunscreen' but most of the time I'm super tanned http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfq_A8nXMsQ

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I had several guests when I was living in Granada in 2009 (and surfed back once). In 2010 and 2011 I traveled in South America with my boyfriend, Cristi; we met a lot of great people, we were hosted by very kind persons, it has been a great experience.

I believe references are very important on couchsurfing, so I fill them in for the people I meet on CS.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had wonderful experiences hosting surfers.

I chose my guests after reading carefully their profiles - and it worked great so far. They were very much the kind of people I imagined and I had a lot of good times with my guests.

I enjoy remembering some particular moments. One of them was a late evening in which, even if everybody was tired, we had such a nice conversation - using a mixture of english, spanish & french - that nobody wanted to go to sleep until it got sooo late.

I particularly enjoyed discovering that one of my surfers had belly dancing as a hobby - it was not written on her profile, so it was such a nice thing to have in common, as I am very fond of dancing myself.

It was great that, some months after my first guests arrived, I went to their town - so I surfed back and got to spend more time with them and strengthen our friendship.

I hosted people in my rented room in Granada, Spain. In Sucre, Bolivia, I hosted together with Cristi in the apartment we rented there. And I hosted in my house in Bucharest, and met a lot of amazing travelers here.

I've been hosted & helped by wonderful people in Valencia, Berlin, Malta, Paris, Bruge.
I've been hosted, together with Cristi, and made new friends in Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Madrid, Berlin, Madeira.

Interests

Trekking is my long-term hobby; I studied dancing for a lot of years, now I'm learning to act. I like traveling and experiencing different cultures.

I'm into eating healthy food (meat-less, at the moment), I cook for myself and sometimes spend hours looking up interesting recipes. :)
I also like to jog and run, I used to lift weights, and I'm very proud of being able to do pushups (there was a time I was able to do pull-ups as well).
I am an active city biker, using the bike as my main way to get around the city. Some say it's dangerous, but I think it's doable and nicer than any other way of moving around.
I like to keep my eyes open and discover what's interesting for me in 'normal' situations and places.

  • concerts
  • dancing
  • belly dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • sports
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=FLrc09qmQOid_ZF9ecrjkFJg
(not up to date) books I reviewed: http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/3190886?shelf=read

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I built an Escape game - escape-experience.com - together with two amazing partners and friends.

I dreamed of seeing the Aurora Borealis and managed to do it, after an epic trip with unexpected incidents (e.g. missing the train and driving 3600km instead of 1500) and beautiful moments.

I love old cities, where history slaps you in the face at every corner. I lived in Granada's Albaicin for almost half a year, and in Malta for a month, breathing the scent of the past with every stroll.

I have met a group of 3rd age people that were extremely active and fun - going on trekking trips, concerts, dancing nights, walks through the city. Sometimes I felt they had more energy than me! I was deeply impressed by their willingness to have a great time and to organize nice events. Before meeting them, I never imagined an active social life after 40 for myself - but now I can and that's very empowering.

A 19-months trip in South America, in 2010 and 2011.

Seen more or less of 32 countries:
Europe: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, The Netherlands
South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela
Africa: Morocco, South Africa
North America: USA

Lived in Bolivia for 4 months, in Madeira for 4 months, in Malta for 1 month.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could share dance moves, food & cooking, computer usage, stories about strange places and special people.

I would like to learn new points of view, cook local foods. And something completely random. :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, attention, cooking, stories, smiles, surprises, time...

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Bolivia, Malta, Poland, Romania, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    19 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Irina’s full profile. It’s free!