Blake Stone's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 72% response rate
  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Blake’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Sanskrit (Saṁskṛta), Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Grad. student, religious studies
  • BA in Philosophy, EMT cert., MDIV
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

meandering, laughing, learning, yoga, writing, cultural exchange

*Please no last minute requests, as it is extremely unlikely I will be able to host you. Please request a week or more in advance of being here.

**update: I have moved and therefore no longer have the sweet place to offer surfers. I live in a very small flat with no couch, BUT I can offer: a pad on the floor (carpeted), or a hammock.

*I host mostly international/foreign surfers, so if you're from the states and requesting, please be aware of this.

*I am also interested in hosting my fellow queers :)

ABOUT ME

In my own illusion of myself which I have created to best fit my needs, I see myself as an ever evolving work of art that different people interpret different ways. I like hats, riding on air planes, chasing the rabbit down the hole, yo-yo-ing, climbing trees, working, learning, reading, drinking beer or wine, eating fine chocolates, eating eel rolls, playing with dogs, cats, and people. I like thinking about philosophy, and trying to think of new concepts, although the thought of new concepts is not new. oh yeh, I do a shit tun of yoga, and my housematees do too. I should mention come of my references on here are a few years old and I have since changed my name from "Sarah" to "Blake."
I am queer so if you have problems with the LGBT thing, probably best not to stay with me.

PHILOSOPHY

live in the present, and love.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I really love cultural exchange and getting to know people from planet earth. I think CS offers me a way to see the world through hosting when I'm not traveling, and lets me bring my world to other places too. I dig hospitality and, therefore, when I have time, making a connection with other surfers. I have met and made friends with some really lovely people from CS.

I've couch surfed some in Germany and the Netherlands and Iceland
I have a couple couches where I live now, but as always I must check with my housemates first. If I have time I will show you around Boulder and my favorite trails.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I really treasure the people I have met as host the last few years and hope to visit many of them one day in their home countries. Yes CS is not what it once was but it is still alive and well. In regards to hosting, I find it is best to host those with references and who are not asking last minute.

Interests

Hiking, building things or thinking about building things, art, design, learning to be present, traveling, circus permance, useless super powers, useful super powers, yoga, german and/or wheat beer, red wine, anything in the news, politics, olive oil, cats, people watching, cafes, coffee, the moon, francais, chocolate, large-medium sized dogs, kilts, a no blame lifestyle, photography, reading about and finding the weaknesses in conspiracy theories, hot springing, being 30, avoiding bad movies, dorkyness, almonds, classic rock n roll along with folk and blue grass, lesbian punk rock and some "international" music

  • cats
  • dogs
  • arts
  • design
  • photography
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • red wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • drinking
  • politics
  • news
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

There's too many to list here, but I generally stick to classical fiction (as in not trash) and serious philosophy books.
Music--I listen to most anything except Country.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked out to a little stream in middle of no where in Iceland where the cold melt run-off from ice merged with boiling water to make a perfect temp for soaking.

I went on a ocean kayak tour around and into some of the caves of Santa Cruz Island recently. We saw a few Harbor Seals in the caves and paddled through a kelp forrest. I ended up eating a lot of kelp, as you can take the long strands and eat the baby leaves at the bottom.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can: teach you yoga, a little acro if you're willing, kick your ass up a mountain, argue about politics and philosophy and generally anything else, give a good massage, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hosts:
I can cook yummy things, but also share my curiosity for this world in general.

What I Can Share With Surfers:

My two darling cats! I've also been living in boulder for over a decade now so if you're coming to visit Boulder, I can show you some sweet spots :P

The place you sleep is either a couch in our basement or in on a futon mattress in our massage room (private room). We now have a projector set up to watch movies together as well. You would also have access to a full kitchen. Our home is located near the Hawthorne Community Gardens, which means garden walks are just around the corner. Bus stops for both the Skip and the 204 are within walking distance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Blake’s full profile.

My Groups