Justin Meyer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.


  • 24 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Copywriter
  • Bachelors degree in English
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

What's up everyone! I'm a friendly, easy-going guy born and raised in Cape Town, South Africa. I love my home and feel lucky to have grown up in such an amazing country!

I absolutely love travelling and experiencing new countries or cultures and I try to explore new places as often as possible! At the moment I am living in my hometown of Cape Town after spending about 7 years living in Medellin, Colombia. I work for a lead generation company as a copywriter and love it because it allows me to work remotely and travel a lot. Music and sport are two of my biggest passions, I used to play bass guitar in a band and seeing live bands is one of my favourite things in the world. I really enjoy hiking too and pretty much any activity that involves being outside or in nature! I have bungee jumped and would love to skydive one day when I get the chance. I also enjoy chilling out and enjoying the company of friends, new and old, over a fresh beer or three. When I grow up I want to be a travel journalist and spend the rest of my life travelling the world and documenting my experiences.

Basically I just try to enjoy life as much as possible and I'm always up for an adventure!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hope to be able to host or help anyone visiting my city and country when I am there... As I have said I love Cape Town and it would be an absolute pleasure for me to share its beauty and many charms with anyone when I am there!

Since I have been living in Medellin, Colombia I have met and hosted quite a few Couchsurfers and enjoyed every experience! Always available to meet up and help out anyone here in Medellin.

I also love meeting people so hopefully during my travels I can make friends with people all over the world and spread the good word of friendship and couchsurfing at the same time!


I have hosted and met up with a lot of different people in Cape Town and also in Medellin, Colombia where I am currently living! All of the experiences I have had were really great and very interesting/enjoyable in their own unique way!

When I was in England I surfed a few couches and when I was in Brazil I surfed with some incredible people! They all made my trip really special and were a big part of why I had such an amazing time.


Travelling, music, adventures, sport, Manchester United, reading, skating, movies, anything new and exciting, meeting people from other countries, life and the living of it!

Everyday I read or hear about something interesting so my interests are constantly evolving! I firmly believe that you do learn something new every day.

  • wildlife
  • beauty
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • sports
  • soccer
  • world cup
  • teaching
  • journalism
  • beaches
  • hiking,

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I really love movies and appreciate almost any genre. Some of my favourites include Reservoir Dogs (basically anything by Quentin Tarantino), The Evil Dead trilogy (I love horror movies), American History X, A Clockwork Orange...

Music: Music is a huge part of my life and I don't know what I would do without it. Punk and alternative are my favourite but I like almost anything (not a huge fan of electronic music though). Some of my favourite bands would be AJJ, Streetlight Manifesto, Titus Andronicus, Misfits, NOFX, Bad Religion, Rancid, Talco, Propagandhi, Tiger Army, The Cat Empire, Queens of the Stone Age, Arcade Fire etc

Books: I love reading. Biographies/autobiographies, crime novels and especially travel books...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2011 I drove 7000km in 17 days with 4 of my friends through Southern Africa (Namibia, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique and Swaziland) on the Put Foot Rally, a social rally/adventure... it was absolutely incredible, saw so many amazing things (alot of wildlife, Victoria Falls, Lake Malawi, the beaches of Mozambique) and met some amazing people too! I was lucky enough to do the same trip again in 2012. Life changing experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

My personal motto is...
"Life's too short not to go big, you gotta go big!"

In any situation i think on this philosophy and act accordingly.

I have been an English teacher so I could help people practice their English and I am always happy to offer my own unique advice on life!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I don't really have any skills or talents (I am however an excellent dish-washer, if that qualifies as a skill) but I have some pretty good stories from my travels that I always like to share! I am also very willing to share my time and will be happy to help out in any way I can with anything! I was an English teacher so can also help with English if anyone is learning or needs some assistance!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Botswana, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Panama, Scotland, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay, Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, England, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.

My Groups