Jerry S's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerry’s full profile.


  • 30 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Decision Analyst, Marketing Strategist, Creative Director...
  • MS Industrial Engineering; BS Economics
  • From Elmira, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Current Mission: To learn and explore my newly single 55 year old self! Adventure to places, try new activities while meeting and enjoying time with new and exciting people.

I am retired from the US Army after 26 years, recently divorced, father of 2 adult daughters. I sold home in 2021 and have been traveling full-time since then. While traveling, I was working full-time remotely for the first 1.5 years and then decided to stop working and take some time to achieve new goals and consider a new career path potentially in Marketing Strategy consulting.

Traveling and meeting fellow couch surfers has truly enhanced this experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have totally enjoyed the experience I've had with couch-surfers so far. It's much more interesting to stay with couch-surfers than it is to stay in a place by myself. When not with couch-surfers, I stay in airbnbs, cabins, tents, hammocks or hotels... making it around the world to experience new relationships, see fun places, visit family, and study/read. I am an extravert so I am comfortable in most surroundings/environments. This has been a great traveling phase of my life.

I have three main goals for 2023: in February, I left my job so that (1) I can pivot to a new career in Marketing Strategy. It's something I've been wanting to do for a while and the timing is just right. (2) I want to ride as an independent horseman and ride fast, and (3) I want to teach country dancing on a cruise ship somewhere. And while I execute goals 1 and 2, I have been travelling through many national parks and just recently started foreign travel again. Spent 4 weeks in Europe in August. I cruised to Mexico in October. I'm flying to Singapore and cruising to Thailand in November. I hope to explore as many places as possible before returning to the USA. If you have travel ideas or want to host, let me know.


  • salsa dancing
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • gardening
  • boating
  • live music
  • country music
  • jazz
  • hiking
  • camping
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • cleaning
  • horseback riding
  • weightlifting
  • bonfires
  • country dancing
  • rodeo
  • landscaping
  • euchre
  • remodeling
  • cornhole
  • dominoes
  • horseshoes
  • cattle drives

Music, Movies, and Books

Country music is at my core because I grew up with it. I love Jazz, big band, latin, pop, EDM, blues, bluegrass, alternative rock, christian, classical and more.

I love to read personal and professional development books, math books, Business books, 'biographies of older people' and anything witty!

I prefer watching psychological thrillers, witty, and smart movies. I enjoy any movie where I am taken through a variety of emotions and actually feel for the story. I don't mind crying in a movie whether it was hysterical or sad. 😂

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Won a "Twister" competition with over 2,000 students while in college. I guess I was flexible and balanced...

Teach, Learn, Share

I have owned 2 homes over 28 years so I am knowledgeable on home repairs and remodeling efforts. I am also a great organizer enjoy cleaning-out stuff/letting go of the unnecessary clutter. I can tutor most math subjects and how to build spreadsheets. I can teach country or salsa dancing! 🤠

What I Can Share with Hosts

Energetic personality, great traveling stories, Army stories, leadership guidance, dance lessons, weapons training, weightlifting advice, event planning ideas, great at cleaning and organizing, cook a variety of things, bourbon advice, math tutoring and spreadsheet help. I can also teach you to play Euchre, Texas 42, or horseshoes...🤓

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Iraq, Italy, Kuwait, Mexico, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerry’s full profile.