Joshua Vazquez

Blacksburg, VA, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Military for over seven years; looking for new work
  • High school and some college.
  • From CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Trying to figure out these next few years of my life and stay active.


I'm comfortable with who I am and I find humour in most things. I talk to myself and laugh at my own jokes. I love being goofy and not really caring what other people's opinions of me might be.
-There is so much in life to be done! I have a bucket list as I'm sure many of you do as well. I don't have it written down yet. Maybe I should do that.


No matter what the situation is, it can always be worse.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


-I am not living alone so if I'm able to host is not entirely up to me, but I love meeting new CSers. I would love to be able to host at some point. I work Monday-Friday for the most part, so weekends would be best.


I was hosted for the first time in Kyoto in November of 2012. I really enjoyed the whole experience! I like the experience of surfing because it's nice to have someone there that is more knowledgable of the area than possibly a fellow traveler.
I love Couchsurfing because it allows me to meet so many people from all parts of the world.


I am a very active person. There's no way I could have a desk job! A sedentary lifestyle is not for me. I love outdoor activites!
I really enjoy running competitively! I only have one half marathon under my belt but I want to start running marathons!

I love trying new food, climbing trees, traveling, meeting new people, riding bikes, adrenaline rushes, cracking jokes, taking naps on days of good weather(and also being outside on days of good weather????), cooking, drinking coffee, watching movies, trying to speak Japanese and Spanish, running, swimming, air drumming, pizza, dogs, scuba diving, waking up early on the weekends, and some other stuff.

Music, Movies, and Books

I generally like every movie genre that there is. Especially B-horror flicks!
My favorite music is classic rock and oldies. I like a bit of everything else in moderation. Hip-hop and rap is pretty much nonsense.
I have not read a book in quite some time now. I enjoy contemporary classics the most such as The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck, The Giver by Lois Lowry, and The Time Machine by H.G. Wells.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In August of 2012 I made it to the top of Mt. Fuji in time for the sunrise! It was gorgeous!!

Teach, Learn, Share

You learn something new everyday... Whether you realize it or not, it's true! I have become very interested in the Japanese culture and language from my three years of living in Okinawa. I intend to return to Japan for good as soon as I can!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I could show you around town and I know people who work for the local transit company so they could fill you in on the bus routes very easily. I enjoy cooking and eating out as well so we could definitely catch a meal or go for some coffee. The Virginia Tech campus and downtown area is less than three miles away from where I stay and there is lots to do there.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, France, Japan, Mexico, Nepal, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups