Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jackson’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • News Writer-Peninsula Pulse
  • B.A. in Journalism and English, minor in Human Physiology
  • From Elmhurst, IL
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To hear and share as many stories as I can!

ABOUT ME

The idle mind is the devil's workshop, so my goal is always to be doing something, whatever that may mean to me. It could be training for a triathlon, studying for school, learning how to cook or collecting vinyl records. I live seriously and passionately, but I seriously and passionately enjoy having fun experiences. I truly believe every person has an interesting story to tell. I have often found that many people think they are boring, but I can assure you that I don't think you are!

PHILOSOPHY

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away." -Henry David Thoreau

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I recently finished a two week bicycle tour towards the Eastern United States using couch surfing quite often as well as a study abroad trip to 14 countries around the world where I was able to couch surf in Ghana. I now live in Door County, Wisconsin and, as a tourist destination, I look forward to giving the unique and frugal traveler a place to stay to experience the place I've laid down some roots.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed with a handful of people in the United States and Canada while bicycle touring as well as in Ghana during a study abroad trip. I look forward to settling back down into Iowa City so I can open up my couch and pay the community back for all the hospitality.

Interests

Triathlon, cycling, running, guitar, piano, harmonica, bowling, tea, vinyl records, human physiology, plant based nutrition

  • cooking
  • recipes
  • triathlon
  • running
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • bowling
  • study abroad

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Thoreau, Tolstoy, Jack London, Jack Kerouac
Music: Any and all genres (And I mean it! Country, jazz, speed metal. There is a time and place for them all)
Movies: Into the Wild, Lord of the Rings, Big Lebowski

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Riding my bicycle 900 miles from Milwaukee to Vermont to race in a triathlon national championship.

Teach, Learn, Share

What I could teach:
-Guitar/harmonica
-My personal favorite recipes
-Anything and everything regarding endurance sports
-Healthy eating

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, France, Germany, Ghana, Ireland, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jackson’s full profile. It’s free!