Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 18 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • IT Engineer in Further Education / Nomad
  • University diploma
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel and gain new experiences from the different cultures without fear, and meet as many cool people on the way as is humanly possible.

ABOUT ME

Im currently back home in Derby, UK (close to nottingham of Robin Hood fame), following the ending of a job here, and doing a lot of home study before I decide where my next adventure will take me. Still thinking of moving to Germany, and will probably spend more time there this summer trying to get to grips with the language.

Im an active adventerous guy who likes to try new things especially in the outdoors. I love meeting new people especially from other countries and Cultures. Even my best group of friends back home are the International community made up of workers and students from other countries.

My name is Rob, Im from the UK and compared to most of my family and friends I havent travelled too much.... until now.
Its actually a recent premenition (some call it a mid life crisis)that I suddenly have found the desire to travel, and experience the places, people and culture across the world.

It was my aim to travel to as many places in 2014/2015 as I could. I even quit my job of 10 years in order for me to achieve this.
Sadly this was cut a little short when my father became terminally ill, and I had to return home to be near the family.

Hopefully I can now pick this up again,
I'd love to visit eastern and western europe, south east asia and New Zealand, and South America.

PHILOSOPHY

All we are, is dust in the wind... dude

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Up until now I have met many people who couch surf and told me about this project. Through facebook, the people I meet at music festivals, and the odd rainbow gathering, and the people I talk to about travelling, they all talk about CS :)

I have also met several couch surfers through CS led social gatherings in my home town and now in many different European cities. I also started to surf when on a Euro inter railing trip in 2013. An experience which made me want to do it more and more. In 2014 I was able to couch surf in San Francisco and Los Angeles as part of a coast to coast Road Trip in the United States, and I would love to surf in South East Asia and South America in the next 12 months.

I have been to many CS events/meetings in my home town, in London, and also while travelling in Paris, Berlin, Budapest, New York, San Francisco, Frankfurt-Germany and Wroclaw in Poland.

I love to spread the CS vibe and message, and I am hoping to be able to host many people when I am working again and I have my own place where CSing surfers will be welcome.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I went from never having heard of Couch surfing, to in the space of a week or so 3 dfferent people telling me about it, as I declared to them my desire to travel.

My experience has mostly been CS social gatherings in Uk and mainland Europe. But have also surfed a bit there too such as in Germany, Czech Republic and the United States.

I particularly enjoy CS experiences when being hosted by a couple. Whether that is a married couple, people in a relationship or just flat mates. Without doubt I have found it much more interesting to stay with two people as much as 1.

Additional - I wanted to say I never had a bad experience with CS. Generally the people I meet especially at the socials and meetings are always great, and both back home and in Frankfurt I made some truly great friends. On the other hand Surfing and trying to find hosts at times can be frustrating. Recent experiences are starting to change my outlook on CSing not necesserily for the better.

I am very keen to host when I get back home and am working again. I have only hosted 2 or 3 people before this was because I was not able to easily with the people I was living with before.
(This is for all you people who say I never host anyone!!!!)

Interests

Visiting places, particularly cities.
I also love to go Snowboarding, watch and play Football, Cycling, both road and mountain biking.
I guess I am into taking part in, and watching most sports. So a slight adrenaline junkie ;)
Music festivals, rainbow gatherings, street theatre.
Also love watching amateur dramatic theatre and foreign cinema.

  • culture
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • soccer
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I like rom coms, action movies and foreign indie Cinema.
I guess I love the old Star Wars and most movies from the 80s when I was a kid growing up.

I prefer indie and rock/metal with a bit of DnB thrown in.

I tend to read travel books and the odd biography.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Completing the Rubiks Cube.
Visiting 7 cities in 14 days. (6 of them capital cities)
Road Tripping across USA (through about 16 or 17 states)
Hitchhiked with a friend though Slovakia, and Hungry and then back again, leaving me back in Poland at around 1am with no where to stay and no knowledge of Slavic languages :S

Teach, Learn, Share

English language as a native.
Rubiks Cube solving.
Hoping to continue to learn foreign languages as I pass through different countries.

Oh and im awful at cooking so I need to continue to practise with my hosts.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups