Logo orange

Joe Jarman

Tiptree, Essex, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 44 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • Went to University @ Warwick Bsc Com...
  • From Colchester
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Disfruta América Latina

ABOUT ME

I am 28 years old, have worked for countless years in the soul sucking corporate world but want to see the world while it is still here! I'm liable to quit my job at a moments notice and hit the road Jack. I desperately wish I was sitting on a beach with my laptop, but i'm not there yet.. Slightly on the small side of average so can sleep very well on most couches. Enjoy music especially dub/reggae/dnb. Enjoy festivals, football(soccer for you aussies/yanks), running and gym. Definitely a non judgemental ex-smoker (i like smokers, don't forget me please), and possibly an ex-drinker (well at least until noon). I have travelled quite a lot in Europe and speak passable French but minimal Spanish – but I am very good at mime. Have driving licence and can drive on the right (wrong) side of road without crashing too often.

I am not especially tidy but I am clean. I enjoy watching foreign language films (even bad ones) and reading. I like playing poker but it does bring out the gambler in me. My claim to fame is I don’t have one (yet).

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I now have 4 years experience in the CS community. I plan to do more hosting but current circumstances prevent me hosting reguarly. I hosted a fair bit in Melbourne and have done a little bit in London too.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

First time i came across couch surfers was whilst hitch-hiking to Budapest back in 2006. I ended up at a couch surfing party, and since them have dreamt of becoming and active participant in the community. It has taken me four years to create my profile!!

I have now had many experiences of surfing round the states, and they were truly enlightening. It is so much better to see a place through the eyes of someone who lives there.

Interests

Filling my life with people different from me

Music, Movies & Books

Movies - Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, City of God, Blood Diamond, Fight Club, 28 Days Later, Battle Royale, The Football Factory, The Matrix, Spirited Away, Fight Club

Music - Dub, Reggae, Chillout, Queens of the Stone Age, Foo Fighters, Oasis... indie etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I once hitchiked to Budapest from London. I thought this was going to be difficult but managed to pick up one ride from Dover all the way to Prague on a Slovak minibus.

Teach, Learn, Share

Don't peal a banana from the stalk! That's not how the monkeys do it, and the monkeys know best. They've been eating them for much longer than us!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mexico, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile