Jake Charneski's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 75% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jake’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Polish, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student and mechanic
  • Hydrogeology and Water Chemistry Major
  • From Denmark, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently I work as full-time airplane mechanic. I am saving all my money to travel when ever I can. My new goal in life is to sail the world and live from a sailboat. This year, 2020, I bought a sailboat with some friends and we are sailing Lake Michigan out of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. It has be a wild and exciting adventure we will cross the lake soon. Always looking for people who would like to sail with us.

I fell in love with traveling 6 years ago. As I traveled the world I began to discover more and more in the backpacking community, like couchsurfing. I think traveling is some of the best education one can receive. Meeting new people and discovering new cultures and sites is the most rewarding experience. I think if everyone experienced these cultures and people the world would be a happier place, with fewer prejudices and conflict.

I grew up in a very small town and have now lived in a big city for a few years, two vastly different experiences with pros and cons.

I love meeting new people and hearing of new experiences. Currently working on becoming a pilot and a better sailor. I love to travel to places where few people have go, the non tourist destinations.

"To Live is the Rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all" - Oscar Wilde
"Que Bonita Es Esta Vida" - Jorge Celedon

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet new people who feel the same as I do about travel. I want to meet people who want to share experiences and stories and share their favorite hidden spots off the beaten trail. Also I would love to show people around my current city of Madison Wisconsin, or take people sailing in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Interests

Travel, scuba diving, sailing, flying, hiking, snowboarding, partying/nightlife, getting lost, meeting new people, camping, canoeing, music, discovering cultures/traditions, geography, geology, music, foods, dance, tattoos, languages, history, airplanes, sailboats, music festivals/concerts, breweries, and brewing my on beer.

Basically any new adventure!!!! I'm sure there are interests I have missed.

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a huge music fan and love discovering and sharing new bands. I'm always interested in new music if you got some to share. I also love music festivals. It's hard to list all my favorites here are just a few:
The Black Keys, Caamp, Lumineers, Marty Robins, Dean Martin, CCR, J Balvin, Norah Jones,

Movies: Interstellar, Chasing Bubbles, Saving Private Ryan

Books: Into the Wild, To Kill a Mocking Bird, Gabby, First Light

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sleeping/swimming in the Amazon or sleeping in the Sahara Desert or Lost on a beach in Colombia or growing corn in Afghanistan

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: What it is like growing up in a small town in America and then traveling the world, and how to sail.
Learn: Your culture, traditions, language, or just your story and your life.
Share: New adventures and friendships

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, drinks, food, and potentially SAILING lessons or I could take you FLYING over my beautiful state and neighboring states.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, North Korea, Northern Ireland, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jake’s full profile.