James M's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 43 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**Taking a break from Couchsurfing**

Hey I’m James and I’ve lived in five countries. Speak English, Mandarin, Japanese and a little Spanish and French. Love the beach, snowboarding, sports, etc.

By day, I work with companies entering Asian markets, especially in the education space, so I’m always trying to understand new trends and insights coming from Asia.

I’m an introvert but social and am genuinely curious about other people, how they think and what inspires them. Couchsurfing has been an awesome way to have great conversations with so many amazing people so far.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I haven’t travelled overseas in several years and I’m missing that sense of adventure and stimulation from meeting new friends and learning new things!

I have a particular interest in meeting people who natively speak the languages I’m learning and who are open to language exchange, as well as sightseeing, being active outdoors, bars, having great chats, hiking, etc.

Interests

  • coffee
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • beaches
  • coastal walks

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled South America for a year!

Teach, Learn, Share

Language exchange! Or I can show you amazing coastal walks, hikes in Sydney, cool bars, local hangouts, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

First I want to understand the couch surfing community more, especially via meetups and hangouts, as I’m still a newbie (CS member since end of 2023).

Potentially I can offer a couch occasionally *on weekends* (my strong preference, as I work from home a lot) to someone with similar interests and values. Everyone I’ve hosted so far has stayed 1-3 nights max.

Please message me first before requesting though to check we are on the same page and to clarify dates and details etc. This ensures we both have a positive experience and so I know you’ve read my profile.

Thanks!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, England, France, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Macao, Mexico, Monaco, Peru, Singapore, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, France, Hong Kong, Japan, Mexico

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.