James Young's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • B.Sc
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey! My name is James. I love travelling and I love meeting new people! I've backpacked Europe for 5 months and backpacked in Central and South America for a few months. I've heard such good things about couch surfing and am hoping to host some people possibly or meet up in the city. Send me a message if you're interested!

I went to university near Vancouver and have since graduated. I finished my undergrad and then started saving money to go traveling. Right now I am hoping to go to medical school soon and in the meantime am trying to travel as much as possible.

I am easy going, love to laugh and make others laugh and really enjoy trying new things. I have been stayed in hostels, hotels and air bnb's and love them all, but find staying with friends in the cities I visit a great and extremely fun way to really get a feel for a city.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I first heard about couch surfing when my sister did it years ago and then hosted later on. I wasn't sure if I would try it but since being in Europe I have heard such good things from people who said I really should. I love meeting locals in cities as well as just new people in general and the setting of couch surfing seems like a refreshing change from the typical hostel.

Interests

Trying new things
Track & Field / Running
Learning new languages (I speak French quite well and know basic Spanish)
Eating and cooking
The outdoors / hiking
Science & Medicine
Going out / Partying
Exploring

  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sports
  • track and field
  • swimming
  • languages
  • medicine
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I like fantasy/fiction books as well as dystopian books like those from Margaret Atwood and Michael Crichton

As for music I like some mainstream music as well as alternative music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I am currently working an amazing job as a support worker in Vancouver for social housing projects. It has been an amazing experience and something I look forward to doing more of.

Teach, Learn, Share

I ran track at university. I still like to run and find going on runs with people is a great way to get chatting and get to know each other. I am really knowledgable about the sport for the few people that are interested too haha.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!