James Mackay's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Quality Control
  • Architectural Engineer/Construction Management.
  • From ʻEwa Beach, HI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
I just moved to Des Moines for a new job and just learning as much as I can! Also very interested in finding people to play soccer and snowboard with!

ABOUT ME

I'd have to say my most redeeming qualities are my thirst for life and desire for adventure. I'm a very happy guy with many stories and experiences to share, and I would gladly learn of your wonderful adventures!

I've lived in Hawaii my whole life, so I'm always itching for that next travel destination. I've visited all over the place, and I don't ever want to stop exploring new places and meeting new people.

PHILOSOPHY

If it's wrong, don't do it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed and met up with CSers in Vancouver, New Zealand, Utah, Seattle, and Las Vegas. Half my experience comes from meeting surfers who come to Hawaii and showing them around!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I've traveled with other surfers in Seattle, Utah, Las Vegas, and I've shared with several surfers the paradise of Oahu and hosted a few times.

Interests

Anything in the outdoors! I grew up around road trips to national parks, and I live in a place that offers many new adventures. Here's a list to make it easier: movies, cooking, hiking, climbing, snowboarding, snorkeling, body surfing, backpacking, music, and smiling. Smiling's my favorite.

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy all types of music. But i'd have to say my absolute favorite type of music is alternative/punk rock. Blink 182!

Hmm as far as movies, I enjoy anything with a good story. The Prestige, The Illusionist, Studio Ghibli, Marvel, Star Wars, LOTR, and everything Disney!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I backpacked from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon to the South Rim when I was 13. Backpacked up Mt. Massive with my Dad at 14.
Snowboarding in Korea was great too!
Backpacked across the crater of Haleakala, Maui

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a lot about soccer. I've been playing since I was five years old. Any handy work or construction related ideas as well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, New Zealand, Philippines, South Korea

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

My Groups