James Belsey's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.


  • 32 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • PhD Student @ University of Winchester
  • BSc (Hons) Sports Coaching. MA International Sports Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Study for PhD, grow my podcast (The Bottomless Pit Podcast) and host more couchsurfers :)


I like to think that I'm easy going and nice to get along with. I'm a sporty guy (basketball and weightlifting are my main sports) and I will pretty much be up for doing anything active whether it's something I've done before or whether it's something completely new.


In the words of Rufus from "Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure"... Be excellent to each other :D

Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Tennessee, Texas

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To travel, to meet people, to share stories, drink new beers, make friends, and discover new experiences


I have couchsurfed in Amsterdam, Chelmsford, Colchester, Dortmund, Esslingen am Neckar, Fort Lauderdale, Freiburg, Friedrichshafen, Hannover, Heidelberg, Leipzig, Lodz, Luxembourg City, Memphis, Munich, Nuremberg, Orlando, Strasbourg, Stuttgart, Tallahassee, and Warsaw.

I have hosted people from England, France, Greece, USA and New Zealand

It has always been a positive experience and I love hearing about the different stories from all the people I meet. Everyone seems to have such interesting lives!


Sports, Music, Films, Travelling

Music, Movies, and Books

Stanley Kubrick's, Jack Nicholson's, Stephen King adaptations, Matt Damon's, Leo DiCaprio's, Adam Sandler's.

Almost anything with guitars in it: rock, metal, acoustic, blues, jazz, spanish, folk. I love to play the guitar too and have recently started teaching myself to play the piano!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ran a marathon without any training and had never run further than 10k in my life before.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: All polar bears are left-handed

Learn: How to open beer bottles with anything other than a bottle opener!

Share: You can have one of my sandwiches if you like?

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation. Guitar/piano playing. Beer!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States, Uruguay, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Luxembourg, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

My Groups