Logo orange

Jamie Tabler

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jamie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Jack of all trades (travelling bum)
  • High School, followed by far too man...
  • From Born in Sydney, lived most of my live in Queensland Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To grow a Yeard(i.e. a year long beard), sail across the Atlantic, become a Viking in the Swedish woods and make it back to Athens for a 4th time

ABOUT ME

Hi I am a very chilled out, relaxed Australian who loves to travel, really enjoy the backpacking life style and getting to know interesting people. If I am travelling you are more likely to find me down a back alley eating what I see the locals eating rather than off seeing the sights, I think the people make a place far more than any monument.

PHILOSOPHY

The best plan is often no plan at all.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I don't particularly look for couches to crash on, more cool locals to hang out with, share a coffee with and explore their hometown alongside.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I don't have a lot of experience using the site, I have met up with a local in Goteborg, Sweden which was a great way to see the city. I have generally stayed in backpackers and met a whole lot of interesting crazy people doing that, I would like to meet more locals though, I guess that's why I am on here.

Interests

My interests include of course... travel (I'd be surprised if anyone on here didn't), also sailing, playing the ukulele, growing beards, and other pirate related activities, oh and also meeting new people, and trying to have awesome adventures.

Music, Movies & Books

I absolutely adore music or all shapes and sizes, from gypsy folk, to hardcore metal, to blues, to indie pop, I have played in a few bands in the past and love a good live gig.
Movies are cool too, I studied film for a little while at uni, like my art house and b-grade but will watch pretty much anything.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One thing is too hard so here are a few:

Cycling up the east coast of Turkey with two balmy Brits, the plan was to cycle to England but my knee just didn't hold out. Suprising seeing I was working in a backpackers bar in Athens when I met them and took on the journey with no training.

Getting "stuck" on the greek island Kithera for two weeks when the ferry broke down and hiring a scooter and exploring every corner of the island, even finding some pretty special spots the locals didn't know about.

Planning on sailing from Norway to England, flying all the way to Norway to discover that the boat was a death trap. Then desperately sending out some emails, getting a reply from a yacht delivery company with in 24hours and finding myself delivering luxury yachts in Europe for the remainder of my visa.

And finally: meeting awesome people, the people I have met while travelling continue to keep me awestruck.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am always keen to learn, I could teach you some basic ukulele, and am happy to share music, stories, and experiences.

Countries I've Visited

Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Greece

Join Couchsurfing to see Jamie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile