Jan Yuen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Malay; learning Chinese, Dutch, French, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student / Writer / Musician
  • University degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See the world, and start with people

ABOUT ME

I'm looking forward to starting travel and exploring, since I have hardly done that.

I'm currently studying postgrad in university, therefore am pretty busy. But I would love to hang out and show people around.

I am writing in my free time and my blog is at http://janyuen.wordpress.com/ Apart from this I volunteer in charities by playing music and performing. My music performances can be seen at http://www.facebook.com/janyuenofficial

If you see that I have a long list of languages, is that I tried to learn many. Beginner means I went for classes but forgot a lot of it.. Oops..
I also tried to learn Italian, Japanese, sign language, Polish. But I can't really converse! Sorry

PHILOSOPHY

I have a few, ok many actually..

One on my mind right now is;

Be brave, and fight for humanity

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd like to start by hanging out and showing people around. Kuala Lumpur is great for eating, shopping and some sight seeing :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been to a few countries and everywhere I went, people were really nice. I'm so happy to have met them and I would like for people visiting KL to experience the same

Interests

Food, music, education, welfare, movies, language and culture, performing arts, dance

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • performing arts
  • dancing
  • education
  • dining
  • shopping
  • movies
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • teaching
  • languages
  • sign language
  • volunteering
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

I like all sorts of movies (except crappy ones with poor storylines / poor acting)

I am very much into music as well and I tried to teach myself guitar (which I kinda gave up), ukulele (which I still play sometimes) and I'm learning piano (but taking a break because of my hectic schedule)

As for books, I like inspirational books, non-fiction, self help, magazines hehe. I read lots of Enid Blyton as a kid and Harry Potter as a teen (Enid Blyton is just magical in my opinion!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climb more than a thousand steps to reach the top of Watthamsua temple in Krabi, Thailand. The view is like what u get from the airplane!!! I was the only one in my group who didn't puke :D

Teach, Learn, Share

Ummm.. what do I know? Lols..

I'm ever willing to learn, it's a great fun process!

As for things I can teach, I don't guarantee I'm the best teacher but I know some things about;

Linguistics (English is my main subject)
Ukulele (Hawaiian instrument :)
Makeup and skincare

aaaand a smattering of all kinds of other stuff

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Malaysia, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Malaysia

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

My Groups