Jan Dash's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 18 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 77, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • kindergarten teacher, ESL, IELTS examiner
  • BA MA Dip Ed Grad dip Linguistics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

feed the world?


I would like to meet diverse people who travel and read, who are interested in world history/politics .
I love cooking but need to know if CS are vegetarian before I reply to requests for my couch. (I am sorry I cannot accommodate Vegans.) My kitchen is SUGAR-FREE, which means I do wish to be given any chocolate or other foods. Coffee is okay if you feel you must donate something (but it is not necessary!)
I am deaf, and I cannot hear the phone...but I check for email and text messages frequently.
Lately I have a puppy who is being trained as a hearing dog...so there is a dog in the house and lately a puppy too.

I try to spend as many hours as possible in my garden and in meditation


I am trying to accommodate the oneness of everything

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to meet and feed new people who have traveled and who have befriended other travelers.

I have hosted many travelers over the years but have not been a guest (yet).


art/craft -photography as art
classical music
learning Spanish
Gourmet cooking without SUGAR

  • arts
  • photography
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • classical music

Music, Movies, and Books

Currently I am reading a book by Jon Kabat-Zinn and The Clever Guts Diet by Michael Mosley
I like historical novels, but I read widely and I read non-fiction as well.
I like classical chamber music- especially string quartets

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent nearly ten years in China teaching ESL to pre-school children and I worked for the British Consulate as an IELTS examiner for several years in Northern China, so I travelled a lot to northern Chinese cities.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share ideas about cooking, gardening and meditating

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups