Andrew Carte

Hillingdon, Outer London, England

Not Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher trainer
  • Meeting people, Life, travel and university
  • From Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Presently working in Lahore.


I am a born traveller and have spent most of my life moving around the globe working and meeting the most amazing friends. I have just completed a three year contract in Liby and now have the 'once in a lifetime' chance to spend a year working in the DPRK. I will be taking regular short breaks into China, mainly Beijing and would be happy to meet for a chat and coffee with any other surfers in the area.


Respect and open minded.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


For now I have a couch but due to the nature of travel here it may not always be available. However anyone planning a visit to this incredibly interesting part of the world, please do get in touch and I'd be more than happy to try and meet up to share my views and experiences of where I live.


I found out about this thru a young German guy while spending three weeks teaching EAP at Edinburgh Uni and think this is an amazing idea. Well done guys, and everybody else who is involved.


I am a great cook and love good food and the chance to break bread over a good conversation.

Music, Movies, and Books

When I have the time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Last year I welcomed in the new year, by sitting quietly with a few friends and a beer on the top of an amazing sandune in the middle of the Sahara above a campsite called Tekerkiba between Ghat and Sebha in Libya, watching the stars and dreaming of where my life will take me next ...

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to offer any assitance I can to anybody who is learning English as a second, third or foreign language, also to people interested in teaching English or other languages abroad. In return I would love the opportunity to practise whatever little local language I have been able to pick up along the way.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Egypt, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Jordan, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Israel, Libya, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!