Jane Morrell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jane’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 41, Other
  • Member since 2016
  • Mom
  • Some University and College
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a single parent blessed with two young spirits. We are a motley crew with a solid code of respect, kindness and courtesy knowing we are both teacher and student for one another. We know our neighbours and we all share and help one another - :) think snow removal and hot chocolate :) My favourite thing as a kid was summers canoe tripping in Algonquin Park. I finished high school in Toronto, and after university and college moved to Vancouver. My last cross country drive was in a VW vanagon and was glad to share the ride with many hitch-hikers. Ten years ago my family moved to NS as stewards to the land and farm in a permaculture model. Now we are townies and have a CSA box from our old farm! I love learning from other peoples stories; hearing recommendations for the beauty and joy of culture especially art, food, nature, music!!!! whatever strums the heart strings. This sounds like puppies and rainbows.... but I believe that a lot of the ugliness in this world could be prevented if we all knew one another better in these simple ways, human to human in 3D.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In summer 2017 we drove cross country from Nova Scotia to British Columbia to see family and friends. Our couchsurfing experience was amazing - an incredible gift! I want my young ones to continue experiencing diversity face to face and experience the joy of meeting strangers in this world with so much fear of 'other'. I have been inspired by the candid profiles here - and feel I am kin - So, I'm on Couchsurfing to find others who may host us on summer trips to Ontario, and those who might want to have a couch to surf in Nova Scotia. Bonne journee.

Interests

  • books
  • performing arts
  • street art
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • live music
  • canoeing
  • lakes
  • nature
  • permaculture
  • contemporary dance
  • wild camping
  • songwriting
  • natural medicine
  • nature walks
  • creative writing
  • going to the beach
  • art gallery
  • writing letters
  • free camping

Music, Movies, and Books

Neil Young, David Bowie, The Clash, The Police, Nina Simone, Bob Marley. Books: The Book Thief, The LaCuna, Little Bee, The Story of Bobby O'Malley. Movies: The Matrix, Singing in the Rain, The Decalogue,,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Give birth!

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn - about things 'Local', the swimming hole, farm markets, farm direct produce and products, art galleries and installations, local music performances - live music is magic :) , good books, graphic novels and more.....

Share - our favourite beaches, swimming holes, lakes, park, farms, etc. Great back road drives/biking routes etc.

Teach? I know a little about a lot of things. I can teach piano, and how to read music and guitar chords. I can teach basic budgeting and money management, and rudimentary investing skills. I am pretty good at finding fun free stuff to do.

What I Can Share with Hosts

This is hard to answer - what would a host value? Clear communication about our travel plans and rendezvous details. Respect and gratitude for Hosts generosity and home rules. Share our stories and art/photos from the trip if desired and any info about places where we have been where the Hosts may be traveling in future. I can share how to make great bug-spray with natural ingredients.

Countries I’ve Visited

Chile, England, Mexico, Scotland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Jane’s full profile.