Jane Birch's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jane’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning Spanish, Swahili
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Teachers pet
  • "Do not mistake education for intelligence"
  • From Copenhagen, Capital Region of Denmark, Denmark
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PLEASE READ FIRST
I do not accept a friend-request or share contact info before I've met a person
I do not accept guests or stay with hosts without sufficient references
I don't get notifications from CS and don't check it every day, so I can be a very slow responder.

CURRENT MISSION

Travel around South Africa for the next few months. I wanna go surfing, would love to learn to dance to afrobeat, and of course eat a lot of great food.

ABOUT ME

I'm short, female and danish/greenlandic. I love ice-cream. I'm passionate about the environment.

I love to try out new things and I'm not afraid to pull up my roots to go explore (hence why I'm currently living in Zanzibar). I've tried a lot of things in my short span of live. From circus, to the military, to working as a rollercoaster conductor. But nothing is as amazing as traveling.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I've couch surfed in China, Poland, USA, and Peru. Hopefully I'll get to surf more in the future.

I've hosted a few events in last apartment and had a few surfers live with me - however this was all such a long time ago so I'm exited to become a little bit more active.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I surfed when I was in Beijing, and ended up at a small Martial arts school 2 hours south of the city. We were 5 people living with Master Chen and his family of three generations. We lived in bare concrete rooms, and started the training a 7am. It was all quite spontaneous, but one of the best experiences so far..

Interests

"Some people look for beautiful places, other people make a place beautiful"

I know it might sound cheesy, but I like to do all most anything - as long as it does not involve balls!!! I love to be active, see a good movie, go to a museum, grab a beer, eat a nice dinner, go out and dance - It's the people that makes the difference.

  • arts
  • books
  • singing
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • martial arts
  • history
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Basically everything except country.

Books:
I all most exclusively read fantasy books. I am a big fan of Vampire Academy/Bloodlines and the Hollows. Kim Harrison is a fantastic and funny writer!

TV Series:
GoT, Bing Bang, West World, Handmainds Tale, Modern Family, Blindspot, Lucifer, The Magicians, Shadowhunters, Naked and Afraid.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My trip to Guatemala. I went there with my class for 25 days, to do a volunteer-project in Paquisic, which is a small Maya-community close to Xela. My favorite moment was in Monterrico, where I got drunk and laid on the beach, looking up at the stars, singing with two of my best friends.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been living in Stone Town a little while now so I guess I can share a bit of knowledge - where to go, what to eat, what to see. Personally I just lave walking around aimlessly but there are a few things to do if you're not the wandering type.
I love cooking and I am always happy to share a meal and a cocktail.

I am always happy to learn about other cultures. I've mostly travelled in europe and latin america but I want to travel all over.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Awesome military stories, my michelin cooking skills and endless rants about fantasy books nobody has ever read..

Or well, look at my references to see what other people think of me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Sweden, Tanzania, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jane’s full profile.

My Groups