Logo orange

Janine Kuehlich

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Janine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Technically a Scientist, but current...
  • Melbourne University, Bachelor of Sc...
  • From Melbourne, Australia
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Immediate plans unknown, just gonna go with the flow in EUROPA!

ABOUT ME

After a year and a half on the road in Europe, I've finally made it back home to beautiful Melbourne.

My week is usually pretty busy as I try to catch up with friends when ever I can. Melbourne's a great place to do this as there's so many great cafes, restaurants and bars to hang out in.

I work at a research institute in the city where I study Type 1 Diabetes. It's an Immunology lab which is totally new for me as I studied Genetics and worked in Biochemistry previously. The challenge of a new research area is good though and the people I work with are fabulous.

I like to play basketball, netball and soccer and am relatively fit and active. I love the outdoors, hiking and bike riding, and I also enjoy gardening when the Melbourne autumn rains don't keep me inside.

When I find time, I do also like to chill out watching a movie, and love a good yarn over coffee or beer/wine. I'm a pretty laid back easy going person :)

PHILOSOPHY

I generally try to have a positive outlook on life, especially after my trip to Africa I've realised how trivial a lot of our issues often can be.

Since being away from my friends and family while I was away in Europe, it made me realise we should cherish the relationships we do have.

I also try to be very environmentally conscious. I love nature and think we all need to do our part to make sure what little we have left of it is preserved. I get annoyed at people who don't recycle and litter etc. and can get quite passionate about this sort of topic.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have surfed a lot throughout Europe. Unfortunately my housemates aren't very keen to participate in hosting, but I'd still love to meet some great travellers, share our stories and show you my lovely city.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed in Edinburgh, Serbia, Hungary and Belgium... plus many more. Have had an absolute blast every time!

Interests

Almost anything really... I like most kinds of music except head banger rock and hard core trance. I like most movies, being a girl I'm a sucker for Rom-com, but not fussy really though I'll have nightmares from Horror as I'm weak. I like most sports, play anything really (can't say I play well though), I especially like football (aka soccer back home), basketball, volleyball, cricket etc. I do like a good book but struggle to find the time to read... and am open to experiencing new things.

Music, Movies & Books

See interests above... I don't have genre favourites, but off the top of my head: Fav Movie: Life as a House Fav Book: Millenium series On my iPod I have: Mumford & Sons, Sarah Blasko, Temper Trap, Tegan & Sara, U2, The Fray, Angus & Julia Stone, Regina Spektor to name my favorites

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Had an amazing time volunteering in Rwanda for 5 weeks in June 2010. After Africa, I went travelling in Europe for a year and half which was very interesting, thrilling, enlightening, difficult, inspiring. My greatest accomplishment was graduating top of my Honours year of University.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Being a scientist I can share my knowledge on cell biology, specifically genetics and inheritance. Learn: I'm not a politically or historically savy person, so love to discuss these areas to widen my understandings. Share: Enjoyable personable experiences, I hope...

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Romania, Rwanda, Serbia, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Janine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile