Jan Steckelberg's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 21 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Dutch, French
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • neuroscience student
  • b. sc.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a relaxed and open minded person.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

after school I traveled 8 month in Australia and 1 in south east Asia, some lovely people hosted me, I would like to give other people a comparable experience of hospitality. Sometimes I am a bit busy with work and uni, but if you catch up with me and I don't have to prepare for exams, I would love to host you.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Never had any bad experiences, it's just awesome to go somewhere where you've never been, but you don't feel like a stranger, because it feels, like you're just visiting an old friend. the hospitality of some people is so big, so lovely that it's kind of impossible to not become friends.

Interests

My biggest hobby is music, as I am playing piano regulary and like singing, too.
But my interest are wide-spread. As I had hobbies like badminton, tennis, football, flute, firefighter, bachata, ...
I like to go out on weekends it more frequently I just chill out with friends, play some games, talk, make music...
I love board-/cardgames, always up for a round of Skat or Doppelkopf
I do love surfing, sailing and scuba diving as well and decently joined the rescue divers of the local fire brigade.
A few days per month I work at a rehabilitation company for people suffering psychiatric problems.

  • singing
  • bachata
  • music
  • piano
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • badminton
  • biology
  • emergency services
  • neuroscience
  • psychology
  • science
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

I like every kind of musik if it's a nice song, mostly I'm hearing rock and reggae, singing pop and playing classic a bit variety is always nice

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My gap year itself was awesome.
Taking crazy pictures at special places like the Uluru, or just meeting all these nice people from all over the world and just doing simple thinks like playing twister? I don't realy have a number 1

Teach, Learn, Share

I studied biology, now studying neuroscience and I was working as a guide in the Waddensea in the Netherlands

I'm general interesting in natural sciences sometimes read magzines like "spektrum der Wissenschaft" (German) "New Scientist"

psychology is also quit interesting, had a few hours at uni about neuroscience.

I love to make or hear music, I could try to teach you some pianoplaying, but that might take time maybe we could simply sing a bit.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Laos, Latvia, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Germany, Latvia

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

My Groups