Logo orange

Jaqi Bollen

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaqi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 29 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 31, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Work from home
  • Landscape architecture, software
  • From Lansing, MI USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The quest for the holy grail. And fruit yoghurt.

ABOUT ME

Last summer we moved to Berlin from the US. We used to live in a co-op with several friends, and always had people staying with us. Its just the 2 of us now in a nice flat in Berlin, and we enjoy the company and fun of having guests. We are vegetarian, and love cooking with lots of fresh veggies and delicious cheeses. We like music, especially hip-hop, punk, and mash-ups, as well as some classics- Johnny Cash, the Beatles, Pink Floyd etc., and we have a record player. We have pets-2 cats, 1 med/lrg dog (30 kilos). We have two pet rats as well. Travelers with a pet are welcome, provided it is non-contagious and free of fleas, and not a snake.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is lived through a series of interesting adventures. We enjoy exploring and having new experiences and meeting new people. We feel that too many people waste their whole life trying to achieve some ultimate goal, and completely miss the ride. Goals and destinations are great, but its the way you get there that is the real story.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

currently hosting surfers regularly and participating in a couple groups. enjoying meeting people from all over the world, both travelers and people currently living in Berlin.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have had several people surf with us here in Berlin. We really enjoy meeting new people, and showing them a few places we know already and exploring ones that are new. We always like to take people to our favorite local places for food and drinks. Through hosting we have been inspired to see new places and try new things, and i feel we always have a fun time.

Music, Movies & Books

Music- Gorillaz, de la soul, the coup, black star, talib kweli, the roots, diggable planets, K'naan, OneBeLo, krs-1, Kid Koala, negativeland, chumbawumba, the Beatles, Pink Floyd, the Doors, Rolling Stones, the Clash, poison girls, Propaghandi, this bike is a pipe bomb, rosa, defiance,ohio, Japanther
Movies- Quentin Tarantino films, queer movies, V for Vendetta, what to do in case of fire,
Books-Catch 22, One flew over the cuckoos nest, alice in wonderland, chuck palniuk novels, vonnegut, memoirs.

Teach, Learn, Share

Crochet, cooking, home brewing beer, language.

Neither of us play music, but we enjoy hearing others!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaqi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile