Jonathan Rogge's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Russian, Slovak, Spanish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • R&D engineer at Atlas Copco
  • Physics Engineering/Slavic languages
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm finally back on Couchsurfing, now the Corona storm is slowly settling. Since I am not willing to actively contribute to the spread of this virus, I ONLY ACCEPT PEOPLE WHO CAN PROVE THEY ARE FULLY VACCINATED AGAINST COVID. No proof = no entry into my place. I hope you can understand this decision.

ABOUT ME

I am a Belgian man married with a Malaysian lady. My wife calls me a "cool nerd", but I'm actually just an ordinary guy, with many and diverse interests. I like conversations with broad-minded people and try to be as open-minded as I can myself.
I'm no party animal, but I like to go out to visit a pub or dance salsa from time to time.

We live in a quiet area outside of Mechelen, a city of 80000 inhabitants with a nice historical center. Mechelen is located smack in the middle between Antwerp and Brussels (each half an hour by train). Our house is 2.5 km away from a railway station, with a 5-minute bus connection from the station to our place.
At the moment we would like to host mainly in the weekends, since on weekdays we wake up and go to bed early.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short, get the most out of it (without losing respect for other people)!

NOTICE
If you agree to stay with me, but something pops up and you have a change of plan: I understand, but please tell me. If you do not turn up and you did not let me know anything at all, I think it is fair that I write a negative reference.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

For the moment, I'm happy to meet new people and offer a quiet place to sleep

Interests

Everything interests me, except for sports. Anything or anyone that can broaden and deepen my view of the world is welcome!

  • salsa dancing
  • history
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • learning new languages
  • piano playing

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: literary classics, modern and post-modern literature (Dostoewski, James Joyce, Thomas Pynchon, David Foster Wallace).

Movies: independent, thriller, detective, animation,... (David Lynch, David Cronenberg, Wong Kar Wai)

Music: Faith No More, PJ Harvey, Autechre, Blonde Redhead, Run The Jewels,...

TV Series: The Wire, Game of Thrones, Fargo, The Americans, Twin Peaks,...

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Bahamas, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Slovakia

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

My Groups