Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see JASE_AND_ROSEY’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Students/vagabonds
  • Jase: Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Letters (French & Lin...
  • From Melbourne, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To settle back in at home, get hosting, and start rediscovering Australia!


We've just returned from a long trip overseas, so now we're settling back in to Melbourne. That means it's OUR turn to host YOU!
We're both still doing the university thing for now - Jason is doing one more year of study and will then become a French and English teacher, and Rosey is starting a PhD in linguistics. So, it'll probably be a little while before we can escape overseas again, but we have a lot of exploring to do here in Victoria and Australia, and we're looking forward to it.
We live here with two housemates: Chris, who is Rosey's physicist brother, and Chant, our friend and resident red-head. When we're all around we generally hang out watching some TV shows, nerd out playing some Donkey Kong, invent some sort of delicious dinner, and pointlessly discuss the meaning of life.


A Kenyan guy who used to be our housemate lived by the motto 'don't ask, just give'. We like that.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We spent last year surfing our merry old way through South America, North America and Europe, resting our heads on the 'couches' of many wonderful hosts (and other non-CS friends), travelling with couchsurfers we met along the way, and tagging along to the occasional CS meet-up. We had a great trip and a lot of it was due to the quirky, friendly, happy, generous couchsurfers we met. Our hosting experience is limited so far, but now that we can we're going to remedy that!


We both love the outdoors and nature. Hiking, camping, exploring, and looking for interesting creepy-crawlies, birds and plants are some of our favourite ways to spend our time. We like travelling, of course, with alternative methods of transport like ride-sharing and hitchhiking mixed in. We're both interested in the history, anthropology, archaeology and languages of the world's cultures, and hope to keep learning about these things from the couchsurfers we meet, in between actually going to visit different parts of the world.

Rosey is a linguist-in-training, who keeps sane by doing kickboxing, dabbles in painting and drawing but not nearly enough, indulges in a spot of gluten-free cooking, attempts some container vegie gardening, and enjoys nothing more than devouring a good book or solving the world's problems over a cup of tea.

Jase is a musician and studying to be a teacher. He's into most kinds of music, but plays in a metal band and records his own projects. He also likes PC gaming, insects & insect photography, and nerdy stuff in general.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saw a jaguar in the Amazon. Hiked the Inca trail in Peru and loved it every minute of it. Had a car break down on us in one of the most beautiful places in Iceland, halfway up a glacier. Got picked up by an RV dealer while hitchhiking in Canada and ended us sleeping in his RV inside the dealership. Saw the best sunset ever over the Urubu river in Brazil. Hiked for six days in the backcountry of Yellowstone National Park and didn't get eaten by grizzlies.

Teach, Learn, Share

We like to learn from everyone we meet, about languages and cultures, traditions and local secrets! We're always happy to help with English skills in return for lessons in your language. Some more Spanish would be especially useful, for when we eventually return to South America.

We'll help you out with whatever we can, whether that's some tips on playing bass, advice on job or house-hunting here in Melbourne, or just help with navigating Melbourne's public transport system.

If we get the chance, we'd like to show surfers some of our favourite places, like the beautiful temperate rainforest of the Dandenong Ranges. If we have a lot of time and a bit of notice, we might be able to visit the Grampians Mountains together. Let's see what happens!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Croatia, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Peru, Slovenia, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see JASE_AND_ROSEY’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups