Logo orange

Jasmine Zhu

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jasmine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 44 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, German, Italian, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Doctor
  • Bachelor of Medicine & Surgery; Bach...
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love doing things - I'd rather play music than listen to it, participate in a sport than watch it, perform in a musical than see it, or host a function than attend it.

I've been described in various contradictory ways including (I'm going to be honest even though I find some of these descriptions inaccurate/unflattering) "active and outgoing", "quiet and shy", "fun loving and adventurous", "serious and conservative", "easygoing", "OCD", "glamorous", "geeky", "party animal", "uber nerd", "rebel", "goody-goody", "stereotypical asian/medical student", "one of a kind". Who knows what you'll see in me :)

I've only uploaded a very small selection of photos here because I join a lot of sites and I don't like doubling up. For more, see http://www.facebook.com/jasminejzhu/ or http://instagram.com/jasminejzhu/

UPDATE: It took me 26 years to realise that I'm an outgoing introvert: http://thoughtcatalog.com/brianna-wiest/2014/07/18-struggles-of-having-an-outgoing-personality-but-actually-being-shy-and-introverted/

Interests

Food, Social Media, Technology, Photography, Interior Design, Music, Movies, Anime, Cosmetics, Fragrances, Foreign Languages, Travel

Music, Movies & Books

I am going to take the title of this heading as "Please elaborate on your interests, which may include Music, Movies and Books".

Music:

I enjoy most music in a social setting, but I'll usually only go out of my way to listen to classical music. I don't have a favourite composer because it depends on the type of music I'm playing/listening to. Solo piano - Beethoven, Chopin; Piano concertos - Rachmaninov, Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev; Harpsichord/Organ - Bach; Violin - Beethoven, Paganini, Sarasate; Cello - Bach; Symphonies - Beethoven, Mozart; Operas - Mozart; Incidental Music - Mendelssohn, Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev.

Although I used to play and compose a lot, I'm usually quite out of practice, so please don't be offended if I don't perform for you.

Movies/TV:

I'm a big fan of films by Disney, Pixar and DreamWorks, and I'm obsessed with anime in general, but I usually only watch movies or TV while in transit.

Books:

I read a lot of sci fi/fantasy when I was younger, but I haven't touched a novel in years. I blame it on technology.

Food:

I love to eat everything, especially new/local foods, and I've never hesitated to try anything offered to me by a host. My biggest weakness is dessert, especially icecream and Asian desserts (or even better, icecream in Asian flavours). I obsessively document my food adventures on social media, sometimes to the embarrassment of my dining companions.

I follow an extremely healthy low-fat low-GI flexi-pescetarian diet at home, but when there's travelling, celebrating or free food involved, all bets are off!

Fragrances:

I enjoy testing and collecting fragrances. http://www.fragrantica.com/member/49354/

Community:

As a student, I loved getting involved in non-profit organisations. One of my favourite experiences was working with a group of my best friends (http://vic2012.com/) on the national executive of the Australian Medical Students' Association (http://amsa.org.au), something I still think back to very fondly!

Travel:

I like to see and do a lot when travelling, and can easily be out and about for 16 hours a day. I enjoy everything from hiking, to hanging out at museums and art galleries, to eating and shopping. I prefer to be actively doing something rather than sitting around at a bar/coffee shop/friend's house/on the beach. I don't mind spending the occasional night staying up late to go clubbing or experience something really unique to a particular city, but otherwise I'd prefer to go to bed early enough to be out and about at the crack of dawn the next morning.

I'm an independent traveler and I'm very content exploring on my own, but I do enjoy sharing a meal with my host at the end of the day. I don't cook when traveling, as I'd rather spend my time and stomach space on a new experience. So I'd much rather take out a host to thank them.

I only send couchrequests to people that I'd want to be friends with anyway, even if they weren't hosting me. Otherwise, I'd rather save my time by staying at a hostel. So if you receive a request from me, it means I'm genuinely interested in you.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I'm full of life/productivity/technology hacks, just ask.

Learn: Despite being talented at many things, I am incredibly hopeless at driving, and even worse at reverse parallel parking. If you can teach me how to perform either activity to the standard of an ordinary person, my family and friends will be forever grateful. In the meantime, I recommend that you don't lend me your car keys.

Also, despite being a food-lover, I try to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen, so I always appreciate learning more vegetarian low-GI recipes that can be prepared in under ten minutes.

Share: 1) My movie and TV collection. 2) My makeup, fragrance and skin care collection. I have too much of all of those things, so if you're into that kind of stuff too, you'll probably end up with a lot of extra souvenirs. 3) Music. I love playing on other people's instruments, or with other people. My main instrument is the piano, but I've played most orchestral instruments at least once. BYO sheet music or we can google it.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can share stimulating and/or entertaining conversation and my perspective on a variety of topics. Unfortunately, I won't be cooking you a "traditional meal" from my country (I wouldn't know where to source the kangaroo meat), but I enjoy taking out my hosts for a meal. I do clean and help around the house to the standard of a normal person, and I love playing with young children and pets. I like things that are visually pleasing, and would be happy to give you my (honest) opinion about anything ranging from an outfit to a potential piece of new furniture in your home. I enjoy playing all kinds of musical instruments, especially ones I haven't tried before, and especially with other people.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore, Spain, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, China, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Jasmine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile