Jason Williams

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning German, Māori, Portuguese, Russian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • IT Operations Manager
  • Bachelor of Information Technology
  • From Auckland, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Scandinavia 2014! :)


Hi, my name is Jason! I was born in Auckland New Zealand and now live on the Gold Coast here in Australia. I have been here for 8 years now! I have my own home here on the northern end of the Gold Coast, which is why I am able to offer a room to any couch surfers that would like to stay for a few days. I am a very relaxed person and I am very easy to get along with. I enjoy meeting new people, learning new cultures, sharing stories over a coffee or a good glass of wine.


My favourite quotes:

"Life ends when you stop dreaming, hope ends when you stop believing, love ends when you stop caring, friendship ends when you stop sharing"

"Do not confuse motion and progress. A rocking horse keeps moving but does not make any progress" - Alfred A. Montapert

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I own a new home here at the Northern end of the Gold Coast, half way between Surfers and Brisbane. I can Host a Bedroom for one to two people for a few nights and show them some of the great sights here on the Gold Coast and in Brisbane.


I have hosted a few people already here on the Gold Coast from all around the world. It is a fantastic experience sharing all the wonderful places and stories. Sharing culture and language. I stayed with many hosts around Europe and the United States on my world trip last year and it was incredibly humbling. The friendliness, caring and dedication that these hosts had was incredible. I felt like I was home, everywhere I went. I can't wait to have a repeat of this experience on my travels through Scandinavia this year!


I love adventure and nature. I love theme parks! Show me the wonderful lookouts in your area, or fun hikes to beautiful spots for an afternoon picnic! I like an evening out enjoying a glass of wine, or having people over for dinner.

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite books are The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy. Some of my favourite authors are Stephen King and Dean Koontz.

I enjoy all music and all types of movies. Love heading over to Mount Cotton to enjoy an evening on the grass sipping wine and listening to live music. Favourite festivals are Blues on Broadbeach, Broadbeach Jazz Festival and Broadbeach Opera in the Park. So many cool things to do on the Gold Coast! :)

Some of my all time favourite movies are The Time Machine and Vanilla Sky, plus many more!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Four days hiking through Tongariro National Park in New Zealand (one of the earliest national parks in the world) and standing on top of Mount Tongariro (an active volcano at 6,490 ft in height), simply amazing! Hiking the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and seeing the Emerald Lakes. Spending the nights meeting other hikers at the small cabins, playing cards, cooking baked beans and sharing stories! Mount Tongariro and its surroundings were used in the filming of The Lord of the Rings film trilogy. Truly breathtaking!

And yes, Mount Tongariro erupted on the 6th of August and 21st of November last year!!! :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm currently learning German at the moment. I enjoy learning new cultures. I love sharing life stories and helping teach English.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups