Jason & Katrina Wendt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 25% response rate
  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason & Katrina’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Professional ( Organic Food) Gardener/Orchardist, Organic...
  • Attained a degree from the Man (UW-Stevens Point) and als...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Lead the good life! Explore, adventure, enjoy...

ABOUT ME

After working for a corporate machine for a decade I took the plunge to follow my desires by leaving my 'career' that paid good and started doing what feels good.

The small yard maintenance business I started in 2012 has evolved into an organic gardening and orcharding business whereby I help others maximize what they can eat from their properties and naturalize previously manicured areas. In the white season (winter) I involve myself in carpentry, research, wood processing (milling lumber and firewood) and up my time with our little one.

In addition, I work on my good friend's organic vegetable farm one day each week and have partnered with them in hosting pizza events in the summer after he and I built a wood-fired oven from scratch on the farm.

I met Katrina in 2012 and we were married in 2014. She owns a small health food store here in Central Wisconsin and loves the adventure in life nearly as much as me. (Sometimes even more!)

In March of 2017, we brought our first baby into the world. She is most always happy to join us on this adventure of life.

We enjoy being outside A LOT. Hiking, paddling, cross country skiing, snowboarding and fly fishing to name a few. Family and friends are important as is community building. To us, it's all about being positive, having fun, taking in all of the greatness the world has to offer and working for what you want.

PHILOSOPHY

Do good things and good things will happen.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We are happy to help most anyone with a legitimate cause. Carry your own flag...its cool with us. Be positive.

Associate with good people. Partake in the enjoyable facets of life...likely in nature but could be in the big city as well!

Interests

Family, snowboarding, xc skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, gardening and orcharding, biking, fly fishing, walking, hangin' out, reading, watching movies and enjoying good eats!

  • dogs
  • fish
  • walking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • reading
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowshoeing
  • business
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

If I could finish just one book, I would have a better answer. We like to research topics that are applicable to our lives, learn from those who have come before us and laugh.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

While snowboarding in the French Alps (which was only made possible by a fellow couch surfer from France, who is now a great friend!) I took a series of lifts and gondolas to reach the highest groomed run.

Upon hiking another couple hundred vertical meters to an adjacent peak that wasn't serviced, I crested the peak to find the most magnificent, untainted and serene view I may have ever experienced.

With no other humans in sight, blue skies and sunshine, I experienced my first real instance of meditation without even trying.

I then proceeded down one of the more gnarly drops I've ever ridden to meet my wife (who was hiking in the village) for a delicious farm fresh Alpine lunch. An amazing experience indeed!

Teach, Learn, Share

This world that we live in is always intriguing. We love to share our experiences, particularly as it relates to bettering the earth, environment and smiling. We look forward to learning about yours!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm one of those hand guys. Anything that could make your hands dirty, I could probably do it (and likely enjoy it).

Katrina likes keeping things tidy and organizing and is a great resource for talking through all things healthful.

We both cook and enjoy good conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason & Katrina’s full profile.

My Groups