Logo orange

Jason Davis

Irvine, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning English, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Unemployed
  • BS (Ithaca College 1999) and MS (WVU...
  • From Irvine, CA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live life outside of the box. The mortgage, white picket fence, wife and kids are not on my radar screen right now and I am ok with that. I want to continue to see more places and meet new people, no matter if society thinks I am too old to be doing it.

ABOUT ME

Travel is my work. I live where I work. I am a guide and/or trip leader. I like to recreate. I majored in recreation...twice. I lead active vacation trips and get paid for it. If I am not doing that, I do other things like volunteering as a guide in Guatemala, taking tourists up beautiful mountains and volcanos, raising money to put street kids in school. I am a transient and seem to have issues with commitments (long-term, that is). My fear is that I will never be satisfied with the places I have traveled to. There is too much to see in this world and that gets a bit overwhelming when I think about it too much.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't just think outside the box, live your life outside of the box.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

So far I have been couchsurfing at members homes, meeting other members for some great conversation, as well as corresponding through email with more couchsurfers, sharing our travel experiences (mostly bicycle touring in Baja and places to see in Guatemala), notes, dreams, advice, etc.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I just started in late 2009. While on my bicycle trip along the Baja California peninsuala, I had two wonderful couchsurfing hosts welcome me into their homes, giving my friends and I a welcome break from camping in the desert. I've also met some other couchsurfing members for food/drink/conversation, which has been a pleasant experience too.

Interests

Home and micro-brews (mostly stouts and porters), red wine, hot sauces, dark chocolate, traveling, hiking, bicycle touring, anything in the outdoors, music and movies...

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: documentaries and movies where music tells the story or plays a prominent role in the film

Music: listening to it, dancing to it, enjoying it a live show, hopefully playing it in the near future, talking about it, learning the influences of favorite artists and bands and then listening and learning about those influences

Books: non-fiction and travel (do maps and atlases count?)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One crazy thing I did in Guatemala was visit an oral surgeon in Xela because my molar cracked, a molar that I am pretty sure was a cap from an old root canal. She ended up drilling it out and replaced it, all in about an hour and a half. She only charged me Q300, or about $37!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Laos, Mexico, Nicaragua, Russian Federation, Spain, Ukraine

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Cambodia, Guatemala, Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile