Jason Linguanti's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Outward Bound Instructor and Wilderness Therapy
  • Fine Arts degree in Printmaking
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Traveling out to Red Rocks to climb (for 9 days) and the grand canyon to paddle (for 23 days). I have considered camping on the drive out, but I would much rather meet real folks who live in the places I pass through on my way out. I seem to fall in love with the USA when I meet the people that make it an awesome place.

ABOUT ME (please read!)

Hello CS world! I am going to be frank with y'all. I know you might be thinking to yourself: "Hmmm, this guy's profile is kinda empty, and wow, he has no references! Weird!". You are right. It's a pretty sad CS profile. I made one on a whim a few years back while traveling in Australia and New Zealand, not really planning on doing anything with it. I ended up just staying with people I met along the way in those countries, having an unofficial couchsurfing experience. Most recently, while traveling with my friend Alex Yonkovig ( Check here, I am now in some of her references! I'm famous! https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/alex-yonkovig ) around Africa, we were able to use her CS profile to stay with multiple welcoming, kind and interesting people. I was able to see how incredible the couchsurfing community is, and how it brings people to a better understanding of the world and themselves, how is goes way beyond just people staying with people. I really want to be a part of this community, but I have found it can be a bit difficult as a guy with no references. I just need that first person to say: "Hey, I know your profile is a bit lame, but YES, you can stay with me!". That is all my friends, I hope to continue learning and growing from this great community.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The world has a lot of places, with so much to see and experience. Seeing and experiencing alongside people in these places is the best way to travel. CS provides people that like to travel in this way with a community to help them do so. I am excited to work my way into this community, sharing my knowledge and experiences with others, and learning about new places from the people I find along the way. Ultimately, when I settle later this year, I would like to start hosting people, showing them my home and learning about theirs.

Interests

I really like to be outside, soaking in beautiful sights and challenging myself. I feel most happy when I can get away from all the overwhelming aspects of the modern world and just recharge in a simpler, wilder environment. I also like to explore cities and towns, experiencing all of the cool things that have come about from simple ideas.

  • arts
  • photography
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • magic
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

I like music you can dance to and music you and read to. Two very different worlds, but they both work well for me. I used to be obsessed with keeping up to date with all the latest movies. I still do quite well, but have slowed down a bit due to lack of access from living internationally and traveling (worth it). Some of my favorites though: Kill Bill, Magnolia, The Hours, The Shining, Spirited Away, Pulp Fiction, Edward Scissorhands, and Jurassic Park. I read a lot, so books could get crazy. I am currently reading Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I lived in Namibia for 2 years, volunteering my time to multiple communities in the area of HIV and AIDS prevention and awareness. I was able to become a part of a very new and unfamiliar community and feel at home. I am currently an Outward Bound Instructor and work in Wilderness Therapy, both around Asheville, NC. I take people on adventures for a living.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Make a good ol' meal! Talk, laugh, share stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, England, Ireland, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, New Zealand, Scotland, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Wales, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Namibia, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile.