Le foto di Jason Thorpe Buchanan

Parzialmente verificato

  • Metodo di pagamento verificato
  • Numero di telefono non verificato
  • Documento di identità non verificato
  • Indirizzo non verificato.

Vuole socializzare

  • Ultimo accesso about 11 hours fa

Iscriviti a Couchsurfing per visualizzare il profilo completo di Jason. È gratis!

Informazioni generali

  • 67 Referenzas 38 Confermato e positivo
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Membro dal 2010
  • Composer, Artistic Director, Executive Director, Curator,...
  • Ph.D. Candidate, Eastman School of Music; Fulbright Fello...
  • Di San Mateo, CA, USA
  • Profilo completo al 100%

Chi sono

Music, experience, adventure

I'll be in Paris for a bit at the end of August/beginning of September -- been in California for bit under a year after several years bouncing between New York and Europe. I'm currently finishing my Ph.D. and will be living in Geneva, Switzerland for six months beginning in January for an Artist Residency at the Embassy for Foreign Artists. I've spent a lot of time traveling throughout Europe, primarily for performances of my music at a few different festivals. I'm typically on the road about 7-8 months out of the year. I spent 2010-11 living in Hamburg, Germany where as a Fulbright Fellow/visiting scholar at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater. I did quite a lot of couchsurfing and hitchhiking that summer through Amsterdam, Brussels, Luxembourg, Bratislava, Budapest, Kosice, Krakow, Prague, Leipzig, and again in 2012 between courses in Paris and Darmstadt for several weeks all over Holland, Italy, France, Germany, and Hungary. I love couchsurfing, and although I typically don't have a lot of time during the academic year, I am usually quite active during the summers.

I keep very busy with my work as a composer, which is also the reason I travel so frequently for performances internationally. I am originally from the SF Bay Area in California but have been in New York for a while now.

In the last few years, I have been reassessing my philosophical and aesthetic values. Living in Germany and my couchsurfing/hitchhiking adventures throughout Europe completely changed my life, and I am continually working towards finding myself as a composer and as a human being. I am striving to make every second count, embrace spontaneity, re-evaluate any reservations, seek knowledge, and observe the potential beauty in everything that exists.

Sep. 28-13, 2017 - Paris
Oct. 6-Nov, 8, 2017 - Wyoming
Nov. 9- Dec. 22, 2017 - San Francisco
January 8-June 28, 2018 - Geneva

Perché sono iscritto su Couchsurfing

I host surfers in the U.S. or wherever I am able, however without a permanent residence this is often difficult. I participate in the Tandem-language forums, seek hitchhiking/adventure partners, and visit with CSers all over Europe!! Always happy to grab coffee with interesting people. I'll be living in Norway from October to December and can probably host some surfers there as well.

Belgium (Brussels, Antwerp)
Czech Republic (Prague)
Denmark (Copenhagen)
France (Paris, Marseille, Nice, Saint-Martin-d'Heres)
Germany (Berlin, Erfurt, Essen, Hamburg, Darmstadt, Leipzig)
Hungary (Budapest)
Israel (Tel Aviv)
Italy (Milan, Torino, Napoli, Corato, Genoa, Trieste, Padua, Venice, elsewhere)
Netherlands (Amsterdam, Den Haag, Rotterdam, Utrecht)
Norway (Oslo, Bergen)
Poland (Krakov)
Slovakia (Bratislava, Kosice)
Switzerland (Geneva)
U.S. (NYC, Tempe, Chicago, Tivoli, Cleveland, elsewhere)

Kasey and Scott from Indiana on a tandem ride in Hudson (Sep. 2014)
Alexander in Rochester (Feb. 2012)
Elke in Hamburg (May 2011)
Christine in Hamburg (Nov. 2010)


Music, art, life, expression, creativity and the creative process/intersection of these fields in general. I am interested in most forms of artistic expression, and I appreciate the value in all of them. I try to question pretty much all societal standards for beauty/value, and enjoy having personal intellectual/philosophical discussions regarding art, music, life, love, poetry, creative writing, film, or anything else of interest.

  • arts
  • writing
  • poetry
  • theater
  • performing arts
  • contemporary art
  • modern art
  • avant-garde art
  • beauty
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • coffee
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • electronic music
  • jazz
  • rock music
  • opera
  • teaching
  • visual arts
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains
  • art
  • experimental music

Musica, film e libri

As a composer I am interested in a lot of music that is not so commonly known, however I also love good rock music, and am very interested in film, visual art, reading and writing/poetry. I won't bore you with a list, but I assure you it would be very long.

Una cosa incredibile che ho fatto

Hitchhiking with a gypsy through the Slovakian mountains and crossing the border into Poland on foot.

Insegna, impara, condividi

I have devoted my entire life to writing music and I also conduct a bit on the side. I taught music theory and composition at a University for two years as a graduate student, and more recently electronic music as well. I'm holding off on a 'real job' as a professor of composition or music theory for as long as possible and trying to pay the bills through writing music (difficult to do), but it is sort of an inevitability. My interests compositionally are primarily in 'contemporary concert music', however you may like to interpret that, but I integrate elements of rock, jazz, latin and other musics as well. I've been doing more and more visual work, video processing, projection, and live capture, which is part of several projects I'm currently working on including a multimedia opera and some works for percussion and saxophone, both with live electronic processing and video.

Cosa posso offrire ai padroni di casa

A lot!

Paesi che ho visitato

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Paesi in cui ho vissuto

Germany, Norway, United States

Distintivi “vecchia scuola”

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Garantiscis
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Distintivo “pioniere”

Iscriviti a Couchsurfing per visualizzare il profilo completo di Jason. È gratis!

I miei gruppi