Jaspreet Kaur's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 57% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaspreet’s full profile.

Overview

  • 108 references 82 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Panjabi, Punjabi; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 95, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Tourism to public health to medical writing to vagabonding !
  • Masters English literature.
  • From India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Am fully vaccinated againt Covid. Would host and surf with fully vaccinated Couchserfers please.

I gave up my job, sold my jeep, rented out my apartment in India in October 2018, started flowing with the winds :)

October 12, 2018 : I am an Indian visiting my best friend in Scotland and he is a couchsurfer too. He has happily consented that I can host while I am here, just as I do at my home in Chandigarh India. This is a home in the country side, very very pretty - to say the least. Dunblane, Braco, Auchterarder, Crieff, Comrie , Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Perth and Gleneagles are all nearby places from here. Edinburgh and Glasgow are one hour train journey. (end note)

Ok.. I just read in this section what I wrote in the year 2007, and thought that after all these years through which I have grown, evolved, experienced new places people, I might have to kind of re-do my profile BUT that doesn't seem to be the case :) My current mission is the same as it was 8-9 years ago ! So- still flowing and hoping this is how it shall be till the end ! 'Que sera sera' is still leading me on..

The spirit of 'what will be will be' led me to backpack solo in Europe from Sep 2014 to Feb 2015, live in Ghana to set up an NGO from June 2015 to Sep 2015, live in Italy from Oct 2015 to Jan 2016, and I live for months in Scotland intermittently.
Backpacked in Latin America solo from 2017-18. Of course without an itinerary.

CURRENT MISSION

Carpe diem

ABOUT ME

I find beauty in spontaneity.The best plan for me is 'No plan'
'Que sera sera'is life's anthem.

Personal hygiene, cleanliness are issues,but not to the level of near OCDs as they earlier were.

I like to learn new things,subjects,skills and believe that there are so many different ways to live life. These days most of my time is taken by gardening that includes growing vegetables for self consumption.

I am celiac.. No gluten please. And a vegetarian out of choice who is fine eating eggs, and occasionally some fish.

Special note for hosts : Pl refuse to host me if you chose to live in a home where hygiene is not maintained, pets are not disciplined and left to litter the place.

Special note for guests : You can be assured of a spotlessly clean room and bathroom to use in my home.

PHILOSOPHY

"Some people never go crazy.
What truly horrible lives
they must lead."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Have hosted several Couchsurfers in India and Scotland, shown them around the city or at least dropped and picked them up, introduced them to my friends so that they could get a better exposure and insights about Indian life and culture.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

FANTASTIC ! Travellers from all over have come in to my life - whether surfing or hosting, and enriched my life in several ways. Met several kindred souls through CS.

Interests

Teaching English. Learning Spanish and Latin American dance and music as I am travelling in Latin America now.
Finding new meanings of this short journey to this beautiful blue planet. Vipassana.
Play the harmonium.
Gardening

  • environment
  • yoga
  • travel
  • meeting people
  • organic gardening
  • vipassana
  • walking around
  • understanding
  • birding
  • nature walks
  • healthy cooking
  • kathak
  • reading and writing
  • or

Music, Movies, and Books

The Scripture Granth Sahib, Seneca s Essays on the Shortness of Life, Book of Mirdad, Siddharth, The Little Prince, all Alexander McCall Smith (esp Ladies No 1), range from Tolstoy, Osho, Jane Austen ,Shakespeare .. ohh..' Hamlet' !
Bollywood : Guide, Zakhm, Guzarish, Kal ho na ho. Any film starring Shahrukh Khan
Generally happy to read n watch anything entertaining and meaningful.
David Attenboroughs documentaries on wildlife. Brian Cox too !
My fav contemporary author is Dr Mcall Smith.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quit job and sold jeep in October 2018.
There is magic in every moment if you observe carefully..
The regular (yet very exciting) stuff was Volcano climbing, Scuba diving, River Rafting in Bali. But ABOVE ALL was surviving there after losing my wallet containing almost all the money and cards I had. Managed to survive and return safely with all good experiences :-) This happened ages ago.
Six months of backpacking n free-floating in Europe in 2014-15 using couchsurfing/workaway and blablacar.. every day of the trip was an amazing experience, landing up in places whose names had never heard before. Traveled light, with no itinerary and yet survived the winter in Europe and Scandinavia.
Went to Ireland for two days and stayed for three weeks.
Just returned after 8 months of backpacking in Latin America.

Teach, Learn, Share

Indian cooking- North Indian and some south Indian, also some Italian now! Yoga, a little kathak.
Teach English. Learn and practice Italian and Spanish.
Happy to offer a spare bedroom and bathroom to my guests, and share food.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Enlightenment.. yayyy ! (haha.. thats what's expected of an Indian I guess, given the number of tourists going to Varanasi and Hrishikesh.. laugh pl!), trouble free guest, participate in general chores to help, cook Indian or Italian food, share stories n tips to travel, philosophy about futility of philosophy (not true), can practice yoga or share wine (depending on mood), masala Bollywood !

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bhutan, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ghana, India, Italy, Scotland

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaspreet’s full profile.

My Groups