Jay Nicol's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jay’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Digital Nomad
  • Degreed
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi all, I'm Jay, also called JP and when I am in trouble... Jason!

After working for years in the corporate space, I have progressed into the self employed role while enjoying the freedom of this awesome planet of ours. After spending a year and a half travelling Southern Africa in a large overlanding vehicle, sleeping in the wild with lions, hyenas, leopards and masses of other animals.

To any potential host, I can offer some pretty awesome stories, help in the kitchen, am a DIY fundie, and just looovvveee being out and about enjoying various cities, hikes, general nature, museums and cultural experiences.

If I visit an area and am not able to mingle with the locals, I think I've missed a big chunk of the experience.

I'd like to meet with other couch surfers for a beer, glass of wine, good whiskey, and maybe something to bite.

Reach out to me, and let's hangout...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It has to be one of the best ways to meet like minded people who enjoy travelling the world, chatting about experiences, and just meeting great people.

Interests

  • wine
  • beer
  • hiking
  • whiskey
  • outdoors
  • sight seeing
  • exploring the world and the area i'm around

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a typical guy: Sci-fi, a good murder mystery, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, or a good series on Netflix.
Books; I tend to go from really easy mind-candy like Dan Brown to political leaders biography's.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived in the wild with lions and hyenas...

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a real compassion for the down and out, for those who have done 'everything right' but still find themselves on the outskirts of society. My heart goes out to them and I somehow want to help them. Sometimes just a kind word and a hot meal is what the next human needs... even if we think its 'their problem'.

Learn: my brain is a sponge. I loovveee learing from people, experiencing all new things, and hearing someone elses view on the world. There is no topic that is taboo for me, and I am happy to discuss anything with someone who isn't judgemental.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Like many of you, I have a huge passion for exploring cultures and countries. Having just completed a year and a half 'overlanding' in Africa, there are many stories and experiences I can share. I am pretty good at DIY and happy to help in your home to fix things. I had a property portfolio in my home country and did all the renovations and upgrades myself.

In the kitchen I can hold my own and happy to help out or cook us a meal while having a glass of wine and a chat....

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Lesotho, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Scotland, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Namibia, South Africa, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jay’s full profile.