Jaison Parayil

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login 29 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaison’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hindi, Korean, Malayalam
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • I work with people with special needs, esp. children with...
  • degree in Sociology, dip in Early Childhood Education. Co...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To meet like-minded travelers and see what this world has to offer. We are traveling at the moment so we can't host right now!


where do I begin?
I'm a Canadian from (East) Indian heritage. I work in the social services sector with people having special needs; especially children with autism, ADHD, etc. I love to travel and meet new, interesting people (as pretty much everyone else on this site!)

I now live with my fiancee, Jennifer, who is a teacher in an elementary school here in Toronto. She's also an avid traveler like me but new to CouchSurfing!


Love God, love yourself, and treat others as you want to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I take part in surfing/hosting, esp. for the CS city crashes/invasions! I write honest reviews about the hosts that offer me a place. I'm not hard to please, so a smile and a safe, clean place to sleep will get you a positive review!


I have been hosted and have hosted, and so far my experience has been fantastic!! I seem to find genuinely friendly people (or maybe the CS community is full of them!). I really hope this trend continues...

I've become what some of us call a "serial Couch Crasher". Couch Crashes I've attended:

2010 MADchester Fest (Manchester, England)
2010 EdinburghROCKS! (Edinburgh, Scotland)
2011 Columbus Couch Crash (Columbus,OH, USA)
2011 Canada PRIDE (Toronto, Canada)
2011 Chicago Couch Crash
2011 Boston Couch Crash
2011 Pittsburgh Couch Crash
2012 Detroit Camp City
2012 Surf the Falls (Buffalo/Niagara Falls, USA)
2012 Albuquerque Couch Crash
2013 Cleveland Couch Crash


Apart from traveling, I like movies, books (both fiction and non-fiction), drinking locally-produced craft beer, and keeping in shape (recently started middle-distance running).

Strange as it is, I'm an introvert attracted to extroverts... I'm a "people person"; I like to "people-watch", share stories with travellers, being enlightened by different views while enjoying new places...

Music, Movies, and Books

Love movies, no particular genre, just a great story and fine acting is enough.
Hip hop and R&B music is my fav, but I will listen to just about anything.
I'm also an avid reader, mostly into fiction (and horror in particular) but I've been known to pick up an occasional non-fiction to change things up.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Taj Mahal - one of the most beautiful buildings I've ever seen. Well backpacking India itself is pretty amazing... a real love/hate relationship with that country (and my parents are from there!)
Standing on 2 timezones simultaneously at the Prime Meridian in London, UK.
Scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef. Not easy for someone who's a poor swimmer and therefore apprehensive about the open waters!

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been trying to learn another language apart from English - the only language I'm fluent in.

I know a little French from school, and a little Korean having lived there for a year, and a little Hindi and Malayalam as I'm of Indian descent (but born and raised in Canada). I hope to be at least an "intermediate" speaker in one of those languages in 5 years.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, South Korea, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaison’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups