Jazz M

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jazz’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Health and medical researcher
  • PhD (Medicine), BBiotech (Hons)
  • From Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I live and work in Adelaide, South Australia where I was born and bred but I travel as often as my commitments allow and try to go overseas at least once a year.

I have been part of the couchsurfing community since 2005 but I had a joint profile with my partner and when we separated she took over the profile - hence most of my references are there.

If you look at the reference she has left me below you can see her page with the references directed to both of us.

Since then I have been busy studying and working and haven't had much time to host yet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to travel and to meet people from different areas, language groups and cultural backgrounds. When I can't travel, hosting couch surfers allows me to stay connected with the rest of the world and reminds me to be a tourist in my own city.


I work as a health and medical researcher and right now I am working on a big project examining the disparities between Aboriginal people and other Australians in relation to cancer, treatment pathways and outcomes.

When I'm not working I love the outdoors whether it be in the forests, rivers, the beaches or the veggie patch. I like being active in mind and body and just finished playing competitive roller derby after 6 years with Adelaide Roller Derby League: http://adelaiderollerderby.com.au
I like water sports like snorkelling, diving, kayaking and surfing though I'm not very good. I like moving with wheels whether they be on my pushbike, motorbike or roller skates.

I love vegan food and baking and love to try things I haven't tried before.

I like to learn languages - I learnt a bit of Greek in primary school and Spanish and Mandarin in high school. I have learnt a bit of Bahasa Indonesia and am currently learning Pitjantjatjara (an Aboriginal language from the Western Desert areas of Australia). Though this is the first language widely spoken in the Western Desert, unfortunately like the many other Aboriginal languages it is endangered and as such is not even included in the drop down list above here on couchsurfing.

I'm not that big on partying in clubs or stuff anymore and prefer to hang out with friends at house parties or pubs/bars/concert venues and see live music, play a social game of pool/snooker and talk.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like many types of music from world music to hip hop to blues and roots to folk to rock but mostly I like music that is played with passion, or soul. I like to play with musical instruments like guitar and hand drumming though I am not very good.

Similarly I like many different types of books and movies - I get bored with predictability and love to learn while be entertained.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Driving up a mountain through thick mist to an ancient Hindu temple in Java and discovering its form through glimpses as the mist cleared...

Riding a motorcycle through the highlands and Western Isles of Scotland...

Getting up close to active volcanoes: walking towards Gunung Batur in Bali and seeing/hearing it explode in the night, climbing up to the peak of Volcan Pacaya in Guatemala and feeling the heat from the glowing lava on my face, staring down the crater at Gunung Bromo and getting a bit too close to the poisonous gases flowing from Gunung Merapi in Java, flying over Kilaueau Caldera in helicopter with no doors and watching the lava flow into the sea...

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to learn more about your home, travels, culture and ideas.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a spare room in Adelaide. Please be aware if you have allergies that I have two cats. I can share vegan meals and recipes and can show you where all the vegetarian/vegan stuff in Adelaide is at and if I am not working I can show you some of Adelaide and surrounds.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Canada, Guatemala, Indonesia, Ireland, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Jazz’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups