Johanna Clayton

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student
  • Studying at University in Wellington/Paris
  • From Wellington
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


The pursuit of happiness and kindness


I've just finished my last semester of university in Wellington, and with a job lined up to start in March and adult life about to begin I've decided to do a last ditch trip to Rarotonga and several Asian countries.

This trip serves many purposes; to explore and really see completely different lifestyles and to catch up with people I met on exchange.

I enjoy baking, cooking, talking with people, making and appreciating art, reading and meeting new people (and, of course, travelling).

All my previous experiences with travel have been fantastic and Couchsurfing has been a key part of that- some of my fondest memories have been because of fantastic, welcoming hosts.


My Oma always tells me that it's so important to make the best of what you have and to keep a good attitude.

She is absolutely amazing so I think I'll have to steal it, or maybe paraphrase it slightly:
"I try to always look on the bright side of life"
Trite but true.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


As of yet I haven't been in a position to host anyone yet- where I've been living I either didn't want to inconvenience others/ or it was just really really small.

Hopefully soon I'll be able to host- I'll update my profile then.


I've been surfing in Belgium, London, Vienna and Italy and had a great time with all my hosts.

My favourite host so far were a lovely couple in Vienna who gave me firstly amazingly accurate and easy directions to their house, made me feel so at home and went out of their way to help me experience Viennese food and fun.

Some of the time I have surfed solo- quite intimidating and some of the time I have surfed with my friend Lucy; who now has her own CS profile. Both experiences have been great.


I love comedians like Ross Noble and Eddie Izzard- and tons of other Brit comedians.

When talking to people I love hearing about their own experiences, travel or not, and would love to share some of my own stories.

I've got a big sweet tooth and love baking. What I like to do to thank my hosts is make a kiwi classic- a Pavlova.

Photography really interests me, having just invested in a better camera I hope to become an excellent photographer.

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite authors include Jane Austen and Agatha Christie. favouritee books include Ender's Game (recently adapted into a movie), Dracula, Q&A, Northanger Abbey and Calvin and Hobbes.

This holiday I'll be reading soem Terry Pratchett and Dostoevsky amongst others.

I like many types of music ranging from classic rock (Bowie, Bon Jovi) to trashy pop (Kids of 88) with random artists in between (Shania Twain, Coeur de Pirate, Pavarotti for when I'm studying)

When it comes to movies I love old films, especially anything with Fred Astaire or Audrey Hepburn but also like a mixture of comedy and action films.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have ridden a camel by the pyramids of Giza (and found it rather uncomfortable).

Canal tour in 's-Hertogenbosch in the Netherlands, and (kind of ) correctly pronounced the name of the town. (Harder than you'd think)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can speak (and probably teach) some french, how to make GREAT chocolate chip cookies, badminton, how to understand rugby or netball.

I can make a mean pinata or show you how to make a dog balloon animal and various weird arts and crafts.

As previously mentioned I like to thank my hosts with making them a pavlova- it's a sort of light meringue cake with fruit on it. Trust me, it's delicious.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups