Logo orange

Geoffrey O Shaughnessy

Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Geoffrey's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Assistant Site Superintendent
  • B.Sc Degree Level
  • From Limerick City
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet as many local Canadians as possible

ABOUT ME

We'll Im 36 years of age, I'm a single guy from Limerick, Rep. of Ireland. Born & bred as they say. I studied Architecture & Engineering in Limerick & I previously worked in an Architects office in Limerick City up until Nov '09 before being made Redundant due to the Economy. So I tried some Private Consultancy work in Design & Planning for a year & that was great. But decided to do what all the Couchsurfers visiting me were doing & travel for a bit. So as of July 2012 I moved to Canada & lived & worked in Toronto, Ontario until I received a Land Surveying job in Calgary. So as of March 2012 I have been living in Calgary, Alberta & starting a new chapter in my travels through Canada.Im loving the new experience, meeting new people & seeing a new City & Country. Plus also trying to get involved with the Local CS Group.

PHILOSOPHY

I think life is one Big Gamble, one throw of the dice. And no one truely knows how its going to turn out. You could be sitting there thinking you have it all worked out & that your happy in your life, when something comes & pulls the rug from under you & everything changes in an instant. So the best way to live life is to give it your best shot & always be curious & open to new experiences. Thats what I think so far & there is still alot of living in me. What do you think?

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've been a member now for nearly 3 years so still finding my feet. But I joined the Limerick Group & I attended a few local gatherings & a Weekend CS Summer Camp where I met a few of the great members on the site. I tried to get the Limerick Group more active & get a montly meeting organised for both Limerick members & visitors to meet & share their experiences. Which was great with the help of some regular CS Members in Limerick. Now Im out in Calgary, Alberta, Canada Im just trying to attend some events & get to meet the Local Calgary Group.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

This is coming up to my third year on the CS Site so still kinda green to the Couchsurfing experience.Open & available to meeting any new or old CS Members in Calgary for a Coffee or a Beer. Beer preferably as I am Irish! I have been a member for close to 3 years now & so far I have hosted CS Members from France, U.S, U.K., Spain, Isreal & Czech Rep. Every experience so far was a good one & I can't complain. The whole idea benefits both host & visitor.

Interests

I enjoy Rugby Munster supporter, Socailising, meeting new people, pubs & clubs, local pubs, eating out restaurants, movies, cinema, reading a good book, travelling hopefully making full use of my new couchsurfing friends.

Music, Movies & Books

GodFather, Goodfellas, Heat, Scarface, Carlitos Way, Love Gangster Flicks, Al Pacino & Robert DeNiro,James Dean, favorite Actors. Music Red Hot Chillies, U.2, David Grey, Sinatra, Rat Pack, UB40, Sting, Oasis, mixed bag I know amonst others. Books Bill Bryson, Robert Ludlum, Bourne Trilogy, J.R. Tolkien The Ring & The Fellowship & all that.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

So far I have travelled a good bit. Germany, Turkey, Tunisia, Czech Rep., Slovenia, Slovakia, Italy, America, U.K. Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I'm currently living & working in Calgary, Alberta,Canada & Im enjoying all the new people & places Im meeting & seeing. It's a trip of Discovery about me as a person & what I'm made of & what I'm going to become.

Teach, Learn, Share

What is Esoteric is what I want to know, need to learn up on that for a start. I enjoy meeting new people from different places & countries & having conversations on their way of life & their life experiences & as we meet & converse for a brief moment we will hopefully share a life experience or moment together.

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Geoffrey's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile