Jelger Staal's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jelger’s full profile.

Overview

  • 36 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Radio Host. Musician. Bartender. Bars. The illest bars. Y...
  • University of Groningen, History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

* UPDATE*

I
M I S S
M Y
G U E S T S.

I live in a community space, with about 10 other people with their rooms connected to one hallway. When visiting me I do have to ask you the -now- obligatory questions of not visiting me when having a fever or recently having been surrounded by sick people. Hygiene aside: I keep my doors open for anyone. /

Ahem: Couchsurfing reveals the most positive potential of the internet: to unite people from all around the world! But...after+50 Couchsurf experiences I do have the following guidelines you need to read first.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 - Chances are SMALL you can stay with me if you ask ONE DAY IN ADVANCE. A week time in between is the most convenient!

2 - When getting in touch with me: please don't make proposals you can't confirm. I'm very flexible with dates and times (if im not home when you arrive my lovely squad of butlers can let you in, for example) but I had a few times where people promised a date of arrival but ultimately didn't show up at all after not responding to my further messaging. Couchsurfing is free but it's NOT non-committal. Understand that I alter my schedule for you in order for you to come.

3 - I am not a hotel. I have a giant couch but don't have a separate room for you to stay in, as my bedroom is connected to my livingroom and only separated by curtains. If you are iffy about privacy this is not the place for you.

4 - Also good to know: I don't live in Groningen but in Haren, a filthy rich village 6 kilometers to the south. It's a 10 minute busride away from town. You might want to rent my bike and venture around, the area's beautiful , especially in summer.

5 - Oh, and..I like to talk. The few disappointing experiences I had with CS were with timid people. I am spontaneous and pretty straight forward. If you are insecure about interacting with other people I might not be the host you are looking for. I don't exclude subdued and shy characters from my life but life is so much easier if you actively want to know eachother.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now that is out the way let me tell something about myself!

I live in an old university building together with a lot of artistic people. One of them is my younger brother, who lives two meters away from me on the opposite side of the hallway. We are both musicians and avid videogamefreaks. We are basically best friends so there's a big chance you'll meet him too when you stay with me. If you are a socialite you will love to hang out with him as well! Our home is located just outside of the city of Groningen but the bus will get you to town in ten minutes. Or just borrow my stickered bike!

Like I said before, I love to talk a lot. The more comfortable i will feel around someone the more my true character will reveal itself. I truly love to be goofy but carry a contemplative side as well. I love this mixture in other people too, the blend of humor and deep thought; the ability to quickly reflect and associate but also to have lots of fun.

For my daily bread i work as a bartender in Groningen. But my true calling is to be an artist. I'm prone to see beauty in mundane things. Some more labels you can apply on me: college dropout. Poet. Hobby photographer. Radio host. A romantic. Childish as in 'playful'. Cheerful most of the time but no stranger to whiffs of melancholy. Very appreciative of intelligent, kind and honest company. Good souls make life golden!

So, I'm carrying a world of dreams with me. The ones that i am most willing to realize are to become a more balanced person, a better artist, to meet open-minded people who can surf on my frequency of thought, to become a teacher in music or/and history and to someday live in a big old wooden house with lot's of space and rooms dedicated to videogames, music and astronomy!

Some of my music stuff:

https://soundcloud.com/jelgerstaal
https://www.mixcloud.com/thefindmag/stay-hungry-4/
Radioshow: https://mixcloud.com/doowutyalike

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get to know you. Give you a fun room to relax in. Guide you around my town.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Went to Hamburg and Berlin with a friend for our first CS experience and it was better than i could ever dream. In both cities we had humble and helping hosts. I used to feel a bit skeptical towards Couchsurfing but after these experiences I am truly convinced of internet's beautiful potential of connecting people worldwide! My first guests Julie and Leonie I had in August 2015 and AGAIN it was an awesome experience. Funny how initial nervosity can melt away in minutes. :)

Interests

. Dancing, preferably on house and liquid drum n bass.
. Indonesian food!
. Videogames, especially Nintendo! (my room is a little vg museum)
. Nature and lush vegetation
. Funk, jazz, bossa nova
. House, groove drum n bass, ambient
. TOO MUCH MUSIC TO MENTION
. Pet random cats
. Watching sports/movies/people passing by
. Playing basketball
. Acting (silly), dancing, singing
. Writing raps, poëtry, freestyle..
. Writing about the things i love
. Traveling

Dislike:

. most popmusic gives me a physical reaction of disgust.
. arrogance

  • pets
  • cats
  • writing
  • singing
  • acting
  • dancing
  • dining
  • movies
  • traveling
  • watching sports
  • music
  • jazz
  • sports
  • basketball
  • astronomy
  • teaching
  • history
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Guess i indulge myself in low as well as in high culture . One moment i'll listen to Sam Harris his interviews with prominent scientists and the next i'll watch WWE. I also reeeeeally love to watch sports, tennis, football, mma, basketball..

A few Movies & series i like: Stand By Me, Fargo, Ravenous, Ninja Scroll, Victoria, Creepshow, Fucking Amal, Parents, Happiness, Trainspotting, Game of Thrones, Kill la Kill, The Wire, Skins,

Documentaries: Hard Stop, Icarus, The Vietnam War, Cosmos, On Her Shoulders, Andere Tijden.

Writers: Cees Noteboom, Hans Warren, Robert Caro.

I am also thrilled to hear people talk passionately about forms of art/disciplines that i am not too familiar with, such as theater, classical music or a career path in science.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Learned to love the person i once hated the most.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to write rap and bust freestyles yo. Also treat you to some quirky dancemoves. You 'can dance' if you love to move your body to music!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A slice of life, bon apetit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Malta, Poland, Singapore, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Jelger’s full profile.