Jemma McGilton's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jemma’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 25 References 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • Animal Science, Photography
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To write my story.

ABOUT ME

Sometimes it's difficult to write things about yourself without making it sound like an eHarmony ad, but from what I've gathered of my character I seem to be a very relaxed yet confronting and up-for-anything kind of person. There is alot of things in my life that make me happy and that I enjoy doing, meeting new people and seeing new things being high in the list, but being passionate and enjoying the smaller things in life also. I know that I'm not afraid to take a risk and I'm willing to try anything once (though often twice!) because it is the experiences that you never expected to have that are the most memorable.

In 2011, I travelled for a year around Europe and visited some of the most amazing places and met people that I will never forget. Although I'm tied to my place at home in Australia to be a broke, student pleb for the forseeable future, I'm excited to be returning the wonderful experiences I had with so many hosts all over Europe - this time in my own house!

PHILOSOPHY

Live everyday as it comes. Be prepared to accept and embrace change. Seek out and enjoy the moments in life. Make time for the people that matter the most. Be true to yourself and you will be happy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As best I can with the time that I have. :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

While travelling with my partner at the time in Europe, with only the vaguest idea of what Couchsurfing was, we figured we'd just "give it a go" when travelling to Greece in May 2011 and got the best introduction we could have hoped for, stumbling across our first host, Stelios. From there everything just fell into place for us and we continued to surf in various places throughout our travels.

Interests

At home, I spend my time often according to my whim. :) I live in the foothills of Adelaide with a menagerie of animals, I study Animal Science, work in a independent bottleshop selling boutique wine & beer, and so vary my hours between my time outdoors with my horses & other animals, furthering my knowledge in life and my degree, and drinking wondrous amounts of wonderful alcohol with good company. :)

Aside from that, I do other things - photography, cooking, philosophising, etc.. Though I am sure you will find out if you meet me.

  • animals
  • horses
  • fish
  • photography
  • environment
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • violin
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • scuba diving
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music and books can take you to different places and change a mood completely. Good writing and good music are powerful things that I always enjoy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I scuba dived for the first time off the shore of a deserted island in Halkidiki, Greece. When I rolled over underwater and looked up, I saw the sun breaking through the waters surface so far away, and was awestruck to be amongst such a huge school of fish in their environment. It is something that I will never forget.

Teach, Learn, Share

Photography - especially photojournalism that centres in travel to countries outside of the Western norm. Right now I'm just planting the seed but I hope this will be something pretty lifechanging.

Music - I would love to learn an instrument, I love the sound of the violin and can't wait to learn

Language - I'd love to learn some of the language of the places I want to go to and expand on the German that I know now.

And not to mention just learning about life.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jemma’s full profile. It’s free!