Logo orange

Jen Drummond

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • graduate student--PhD in Environment...
  • Chemical Engineer
  • From near Chicago, IL
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Discover New Zealand!

ABOUT ME

Hi! I am a grad student in Chicago currently working on a year long research project in Hamilton, New Zealand. I've already extended my visa once because I am really enjoying my time here. Now that it is summer I am looking forward to hiking more and traveling around NZ. Want to join!? I am usually up for a night out in town, but have also been trying to cook more and more and learn how to make vegetarian dishes as delicious as possible.

PHILOSOPHY

life only gets better....

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to couchsurfing, but I've hosted a bunch through other sites. I can't host now in NZ with my current living situation, but would love to meet people who live in Hamilton or who are just passing through and want to hang out while they are here.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I have met some amazing people through couchsurfing since moving to Hamilton. Looking forward to using the site more to meet people while traveling and hosting once I am in a different living arrangement back in Chicago (or wherever I end up!).

Interests

love yoga, planning my next trip/adventure, live music, a good book that you start reading and 4 hours later realize you haven't stopped, great conversations over wine, trying things that scare me, traveling to a new country, learning a new language.

Music, Movies & Books

love frightened rabbit, wilco, mumford and sons, must admit a little country, sara bareilles, going to live shows. loved the hunger games, cleopatra's daughter, always looking for a good book recommendation...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

an internship in belfast during undergrad that introduced me to many international students/new friends changed my life and point of view, watching the sunset every night in a small beach town in Costa Rica, communicating in italian while studying abroad

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some spanish, yoga, tap dancing (yes I've taken classes for years!), some fun facts on water quality and contaminants in rivers, and anything else we may think of.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile