Jennifer Cochrane's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jennifer’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Former optician turned graphic designer
  • Attended college at the University of Nevada, Reno
  • From Reno, NV, USA
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

Hello! My name is Jen, and I am a 34 year old mother of two boys (ages 10 and 11). I homeschool them, and we are full-time expats! We love beaches, movies, and exploring new places (and they are also Minecraft addicts!). My younger son's goal is to touch all the major oceans by the time he turns 18. So far, we have two checked off the list: the Pacific and the Caribbean, and will soon have the Atlantic, as well!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

About a year and a half ago, tragedy struck our little family. The boy's father (my ex husband) committed suicide. We tried to carry on back at our normal life in Reno, but the stress of us being so busy just trying to hold everything together got to be too much for us. I worked full time, and they had to go to the after school program, so, after gathering everyone back together, then getting dinner and homework over, we hardly felt like we saw each other. It was beginning to affect our health. I had major stomach problems and was starting to have heart palpitations, and one of my sons had constant migraines. Something had to change.

After countless hours spent online, I hatched a plan and talked to the boys about moving to Panama. There, we could spend all our time together, because I would be able to afford to be a full time mom. They agreed, so we sold all of our stuff, condensed our life down to 6 suitcases and 3 backpacks, and the rest, as they say, is history!

We are traveling to Spain later this year, and then who knows where our wandering feet will take us next!

Interests

  • arts
  • architecture
  • design
  • graphic design
  • video games
  • music
  • piano
  • study
  • learning languages
  • meeting people
  • learning new things
  • playing music
  • europe
  • coaching
  • tarot
  • watercolor
  • homeschooling
  • jewelry making
  • central america
  • learning spanish
  • minecraft
  • worldschooling
  • play piano
  • cheap travel

Music, Movies, and Books

I think I'm getting old, because I notice that I am nostalgic about a lot of late 90's, early 2000's bands... I love Weezer, Cake, Radiohead, System of a Down, and your occasional Mazzy Star tune. But I also love things like Damian Rice, Chase Holfelder, Martin Garrix, and even classical music and showtunes!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hmmm... well, one amazing thing I've almost done was appearing on the show "Tiny House Nation." I was cast for the show, and thought that I would officially be a proud tiny house owner, but, unfortunately, about a month before filming was set to start, the price doubled, and it no longer made financial sense for me. :-( Oh well.... maybe someday!

Teach, Learn, Share

I absolutely love helping aspiring entrepreneurs, so if you are thinking about starting your own business, building a website, marketing, or branding, I would love to help you out!

I would love to learn Spanish better.

And sharing... hmmm.... I can basically make the same exact Orange Chicken that they serve at PF Chang's (minus the fried / breaded part!). I'd be happy to cook it and / or show you how!

What I Can Share with Hosts

The three of us (myself and my two children) love amazing conversations, listening, and connecting. They have a few wacky word tricks that will make your head spin. We can kick in for groceries, a meal at your favorite restaurant, a movie, or admission to your favorite nature park! And, as I mentioned above, if you have any business aspirations, I am happy to help, including designing a logo or packaging for you!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, Panama

Countries I’ve Lived In

Panama, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jennifer’s full profile. It’s free!