Logo orange

Jennifer S.

New York, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

96% response rate · Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jennifer's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 25 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Librarian
  • MLIS from San Jose State University;...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

******I'm currently not taking any more Couchsurfing requests for this summer (I've already had more requests than I can take. I'll change my status again in a month or so!******

My name is Jennifer, I'm 26 years old, and a disciple of Christ. I like books, the performing arts, and hanging out with my friends. I spend way too much time on the internet. I love to travel, and have been to five different continents. While I love to meet and talk to new people of all sorts, I'm an introvert. I prefer to go out with a small group of people, sitting and talking or playing board/card games rather than partying like crazy with a huge group.

PLEASE NOTE: I'm always willing to meet up, if I'm free! I MIGHT be able to host, but I always have to run it by my roommates first. Also, I get tons of requests since I live in NYC, and it's just not possible for me to host everyone. If you want to surf, please send me a couch request rather than a message.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I first CouchSurfed in Europe in the spring of 2010, and completely fell in love with the idea. Since then, I've also begun hosting people whenever I have a free couch, which has been a whole lot of fun. I also love meeting CSers, whether at planned gatherings or just randomly!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE:

Surfed:
Nash - Oslo, Norway - June '15
Sam and Mike - New York, NY - June '12
Katherine - New York, NY - June '12
Jen - Washington, D.C. - Feb. '11
Victor - London, U.K. - May '10
Josie - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Apr. '10
Déborah - Blois, France - Apr. '10
Sabine - Vienna, Austria - Mar. '10
Kathrin - Interlaken, Switzerland - Mar. '10

Hosted:
Dori - Hungary - June '15
Dolly - Singapore - March '13
Amy, Susan, and Ann - September '12
Svenja, Laura, and David - Germany - September '12
Uli and Caro - Germany - September '12 and October '12
Grace - USA - June '12
Kathi, Lara, and Eduard - Germany - June '12
Stephanie and Abby - USA - May '12
Alan and Li - Ireland - Nov. '10
Alyssa - USA - Aug. '10 (Well, I started out hosting her, but it turned into her becoming my roommate for several weeks!)

And I've met more than a few other great CSers for coffee, at meet-ups, while surfing at their friends' houses, or while staying at a hostel!

Music, Movies & Books

Books: I absolutely LOVE to read! My favorite genre is fantasy (particularly YA fantasy), but I'll read almost any fiction work I can get my hands on. Current favorite authors include: Sherwood Smith, Tamora Pierce, Patricia C. Wrede, Jane Austen, Megan Whalen Turner, Lois McMaster Bujold, and C.S. Lewis.

TV: I don't watch much TV, but I do enjoy the following shows on occasion: Gilmore Girls, Friends, How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory, So You Think You Can Dance, Elementary, etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Oh my, so many! I've ridden an elephant in Thailand, gone snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, lain in an open field in Oregon gazing at more stars than I've ever seen in my life, visited the old part of Fes in Morocco, and more!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd particularly love to do a language exchange - my English for your Spanish! I'd also love to learn any other language, but as I don't know more than a few words of anything else but English and Spanish, you'd have to be patient with an absolute beginner!

I'd also love to learn to knit or crochet, and to improve my very basic skills at any type of social dance (waltz, swing, latin, whatever!). It'd also be great to learn to cook better, since I'm not very good! And I keep starting to learn guitar and then not sticking with it, so maybe you could help with that? Not sure what cool skills I could teach in return...OH! I can teach you to use a blade of grass as a whistle! Or how to fold an origami swan or twist a balloon dog or sword. Not sure any of that is useful or interesting, though...

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jennifer's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile