Jennifer Knaus

Berkeley, California, United States

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jennifer’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Product Manager - manager of stuff
  • Degree in *gulp* italian language and art history... I ha...
  • From CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Meeting nice people, exploring new places, learning what I don't know, eating delicious food and drinking GOOD coffee


I'm a sometimes baker, gardener, reader, painter, climber, organizer, traveler, hiker, and camper (among other things) who loves a great food, is sort of obsessed with coffee culture, enjoys devouring a good book, exploring, getting dirty (like, digging in the dirt/mud/bush), has a quirky sense of humor, loves animals and asks a lot of questions. I went to university, graduated in 4 years, studied in Italy for a bit, worked in an office for 5.5 years, WWOOFed and Couch Surfed in New Zealand for a year am now living and working in Berkeley, CA.


Do good things.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am open to hosting and have loved surfing when I travel.


So far, 2 excellent nights in Queenstown, NZ, 3 nights in Invercargill and several really wonderful and trustworthy recommendations.


nature: animals, bush, large bodies of water, gardens
food: great tasting, love-filled, natural-ish with lots of fruits and vege
people: nice, honest, funny, creative
other: art, movies, yoga, typography, photography, architecture

Music, Movies, and Books

books: rain of gold, pass the butterworms, a walk in the woods, the harry potter series, the millennium series (girl with the dragon tattoo), life of pi, power of one, under the banner of heaven, into thin air, memoirs of a geisha, marching powder

movies: the incredibles, kill bill vol. 2, the last king of scotland, demolition man, my life so far, rain, harry potter and the goblet of fire

music: thee oh sees (forever), ty segall, tame impala, the deadly syndrome, the black keys, mumford and sons, the swell season, manu chao, fleet foxes, miike snow, sean hayes, mason jennings, nico case, phoenix, the beatles

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This will sound strange but the most profound thing I've seen in quite some time was a home-kill... while WWOOFing in New Zealand one of the first places I stayed was a small family farm. The farm had 8 cows that I would help tend to and enjoyed being around very much. After being a vegetarian for several years (mostly for the reason that I don't agree with the meat production practices in the states) I witnessed a cow be turned into food in what I would call a completely humane way (and quick and professional and fascinating). Sounds a bit like a brutal experience but I found a huge amount of respect for both the cow and the farmers and the home-killer guy and think back on it as an amazing experience.Other things: climbing/hiking half dome in Yosemite, backpacking in Havasupi (Grand Canyon), living in Siena, Italy...

Teach, Learn, Share

I have loads to learn about everything but in particular I love learning new recipes, new gardening tips, new music to enjoy, new insights to cultures and lands and histories.I can offer up a few good recipes, laughter and I enjoy helping others with their English (if they're keen).

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, some moderate cooking skills, a knowledge of the places I've been so far

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Spain, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jennifer’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups