Logo orange

Jen Guterman

Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • ESOL Teacher
  • MA English literature and Grad certi...
  • From Western New York State
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To give back to the Couch Surfing Community

ABOUT ME

I am an idealist. I am also a pretty low-maintenance person with a small town background. I love enjoying and showing off my city of Boston, but I also love getting out of town to enjoy nature or see new places.
I feel like I am most myself when I am traveling. I love the feeling of waking up to something totally new and of sharing a journey with new people who will change my life somehow forever, even if I just meet them for a little while. It may sound corny, but that is 100% sincere! I work really hard so I savor my opportunities to travel, and try to play hard too when I am home. Sometimes people tell me I need to relax more because I feel like I always want to get so much out of each day.
As a city-dweller, I also cherish vast, wide open spaces. I especially love mountains--Montana, New Hampshire, and Peru are some of my favorite places for that.
Finally, I am a person who values relationships and experiences over things. I really do think there could be peace on earth if everyone focused and cared enough. Some things I don't own include a car, a working TV set, high heels, and makeup. I do, however, have a weakness for shiny, dangly earrings and used books.

PHILOSOPHY

"What is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?" --Mary Oliver
I am not one to postpone a journey--I will throw my soul into it, but I am also practical and down-to-earth as I do so.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have couch-surfed now a few times, and been so amazed by the generosity that hosts have shown me. I'd love to return the favor to others, but can't host in my current living situation. I can offer advice about Boston, or some of my time to show you around, grab a coffee, and/or practice your English! I'm also good for recommendations for bookstores, outdoor spaces, and cheap eats (go to Pho Pasteur in Chinatown--the service is a bit brusk but this is hands down my favorite).
I'm actually looking for suggestions about what would be helpful to the community, so if you have any ideas, please let me know.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couch surfed a couple of times (once very recently) with my friend Diane. Dual profile: http://www.couchsurfing.org/profile.html?id=45OJCX5
I have also couch-surfed a bit on my own.

Interests

I love learning about different cultures and the world in general. If I can see things from a slightly different angle afterwards, I find an activity worthwhile. Some of my favorite activities are reading, hiking, cooking and eating (I'm involved in Slow Food), live music, drumming, Zumba, yoga, camping, dancing, and running. I'm also really interested in improving my Spanish--as a language teacher I feel I should master at least one other language.

Music, Movies & Books

Anything peaceful or joyous.

Favorite movies: Spirited Away and pretty much any other Miyazaki movie, Once (and Swell Season, the documentary about Marketa Irglova and Glen Hasard--incredible), Out of Africa, the Motorcycle Diaries, Invictus, A River Runs Through It, Whale Rider

Favorite Music: Guster, Shakira, Ben Folds, U2, Dixie Chicks, African-style drumming, folk, salsa and merengue

Favorite books: I have two degrees in literature--there are too many to count! I love New England classics like Moby Dick, Little Women, and Walden. Some writers I love include Gary Snyder, Annie Dillard, and Jhumpa Lahiri.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I just went to the Grand Canyon this past May. That was awesome! My eyes were all messed up because they had never perceived anything so wide or deep. I just did a day tour; would love to go back someday to hike in and camp.

Another favorite travel moment was biking solo around Inis Mor in Ireland. This was my first real trip by myself. It was so beautiful, and everything seemed like magic. I swear all the animals were following me--including the dogs and horses. I also had my first and last (two sentence) Gaelic conversation, after studying it for a couple of months.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I am an English language teacher, so I can give all kinds of feedback on speaking and writing--only if you actually want it! I can turn my "teacher ear" on or off depending on the situation.

Countries I've Visited

Bahamas, Canada, China, France, Ghana, Grenada, Ireland, Jamaica, Peru, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile