Jernej Mencinger's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jernej’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Slovene; learning Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Freelance translator
  • Interlingual communication (BA)
  • From Slovenia
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Born and raised in a farmer family in a little village under the mountains. I studied translation in Ljubljana and did 2 semesters in Graz, Austria. Now I live in my flat in Zgoša and work as a freelancer. In my 2 semesters abroad, I 've met so many new people and learned so much about their culture. Experiencing different cultures and different things instead of just learning about them in books and films and Wikipedia is so much better and so much more fun.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love learning new things and cultures and people. It even helps me in my profession, because translation is all about taking something from one culture and presenting it to a different culture. I find this whole intercultural thing very important and fun. So after my erasmus semesters, couch surfing seems to be another cool way of staying in touch with the world.

Interests

I'm not very good at small talk. I don't like the sentence "Oh look at the weather we have today." I prefer philosophical, psychological and sociological topics. I'm always happy if I find someone with the same interest.

I like to do sports. My favourites are running and hiking. And I like to participate at fun events, like Wings for life and Red bull 400. Anything that's out of the oridinary.

  • culture
  • books
  • running
  • movies
  • hiking
  • sports
  • freelancing
  • study abroad
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I like to listen to 80's and 90's rock and hip hop music. Things like Metallica, Run DMC, Cypress hill. Then there's some good rock bands from the same era from former Yugoslavia. But above all, I like to just listen to any kind of music in languages that I'm learning or want to learn.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Poland, Slovakia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Slovenia

Join Couchsurfing to see Jernej’s full profile. It’s free!