Jesse Amar's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile.


  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Ancient Greek, English, French, Latin; learning German, Greek (modern), Italian, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Classics (Latin and Greek literature) PhD student
  • BA and MA in classics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a student of classical (Latin and Greek) literature, specializing in philosophy--I also love film, music, good food, and of course traveling around. I’ve lived un peu partout in the US, also in France and Australia, and I’m hoping to move abroad again in the next few years—for now I’m traveling and exploring as much as I can. I’ve only surfed a few times, but those were great experiences and I’m eager to try it out again!

Je parle français, un poco español, and I’m learning German for my studies though I haven't made great strides.

When I'm at home in Philadelphia I'm usually open for guests, and hoping to host lots of folks this year--I live with my girlfriend and two cats, we have a small but nice guest room with a large comfortable air mattress, fine for a couple. Our place is clean and quiet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hoping to meet interesting people, explore new places, and round out my view of the world


  • literature
  • running
  • music
  • hiking
  • philosophy
  • film
  • language

Music, Movies, and Books

I like classical, jazz, folk, fusion, prog rock, and my girlfriend is an aficionado of alt pop—there are good concerts in philly and we’d love to share it with you. I’m also a bit of a cinephile and there are a couple of good arthouses in town. Reading is more or less my métier, so always happy to talk about books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

archeological excavation summer 2023, digging up the remains of an ancient Greek village—something I’ve wanted to experience for years!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to cook, and I’ve got a good stock of recipes to share—besides that, every conversation about places, histories, people, or art is something I welcome

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good cook, conversationalist, free Latin tutoring if anyone’s into that :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile.