Jesse Fokke's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 46% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile.

Overview

  • 61 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Author and translator
  • Bachelor in Journalism
  • From Emmeloord, Flevoland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a 29-year old Dutchman. I work as an independent English translator. I've travelled around Belgium and France to do research for a historic novel which I am currently writing.

I'm a social type and I enjoy a beer as much as the next man, but I'm also cultured and I like to visit museums and historical sites. Furthermore, I'm adventurous and like to be on the move.

Lastly, I love to share cultural experiences, and I am always looking to taste local food and drink, to discuss language and to hear stories about other cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like meeting new people and learning from other people's experience. I think this is a great way to trade kindnesses and get to know people from all walks of life and all continents.

I've had countless great experiences on Couchsurfing, made good friends and learned a great deal about others and myself as well. Couchsurfing certainly took a great part in making last year the best chapter in my life (thus far).

I've been hosted more than I have hosted, but as I am not travelling at the moment, I am getting the chance to host more regularly. For some reason, I get a lot more requests from women than from men. This does not bother me unduly, but I don't want anyone getting the wrong idea looking at my references: I am not on Couchsurfing for the chase, and men are equally welcome!

Interests

People, partying, history, music, culture, languages, geography, exercise, adventure.

  • culture
  • writing
  • beer
  • exercise
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • nature

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Radiohead, Queens of the Stone Age, Pink Floyd, Acda & De Munnik, Gorillaz, Siriusmo, Mr. Oizo, Noisia, Black Sun Empire. Movies: Children of Men, Snatch, Braveheart. Series: Family Guy, South Park, Archer, Rick & Morty, Game of Thrones, The Wire. Books: the Masters of Rome Series, everything Steven Saylor ever wrote, A Song of Ice and Fire, the Discworld Series, the works of Adrian Goldsworthy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I climbed Mont Blanc

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a lot to share and am eager to learn. Just ask.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, good times and of course I'll pay for any comestibles etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Curaçao, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile.