Jessica Ross Novak's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • English teacher (secondary school)
  • Literature and Linguistics
  • From Palma de Mallorca, Spain
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm reaping the fruits of my first year as a teacher and want to make the most of my long summer holidays by travelling part of Europe, Scandinavia and Germany.

ABOUT ME

I was born in Spain but my mother is English and my father Argentinian. So, I'm a very bicultural as well as bilingual person.
I was born and raised from a mediterranean island and sometimes an island can get a bit small for oneself and then the urge to travel kicks in. But, truth is there is nothing quite like home and I clearly recommend people to come visit this little paradise. I lived in France for one year in 2012 on an Erasmus internship during my third year of university and the year after that I got another scholarship to study for six months in Brazil. Both experiences enriched me in so many ways.
------------------

A more personal description? Sometimes I can come accross as shy but that really depends on the situation. With some people I just click and it's a wonderful thing, one of my best friends I met on a 15 minute bus ride and we stayed in contact since. So, I might need some warming up to get comfortable but I'm very easy to be with and talk to.
I'm taurus with libra rising if that means anything to you. I can pretty indecisive, don't like being alone, street smart, very good at taking care of myself, pleasure-loving, empathetic, sensitive, always up to do anything, generally very positive about life.

PHILOSOPHY

Las oportunidades nunca se pierden, las que tu dejas pasar las aprovecha otro. (*No dejes que te pase!)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first experience couchsurfing was in Montpellier, France. I got there with no house nor anything and went to the CS reunion being held along with my sister (also staying on internship) and another "homeless" Mexican student we had met that day with the hope of finding a host. Luckily Miguel offered to take us in and all went smooth from then on. Looking back, I'm so glad I was broke as hell that year as not having money pushes you to get out of your comfort zone and try new things, in a good way. That year I put my trust into strangers of the CS community who later became my closest friends, I hitchhiked around the country and got away a whole year with barely ever paying for the tram ticket (I know that's wrong but like I said I was pretty poor).
I surfed again in Belo Horizonte while I searched for a room to rent and again in Sao Joao del Rei and Rio de Janeiro just for tourism. All have been interesting experiences, I think it is by far the best way to travel.

Interests

The BEACH beyond anything else, hiking, going out with friends for coffee or partying, the usual. Unfortunately, I play no musical instruments, although may try and take up the piano. For sports,I'm not a sports person at all. I do love hiking, cycling's good too. Of course swimming (in sea, not so keen on swimming pools) and snorkling. Tried windsurfing once and enjoyed that. Scuba diving is an experience I definitely want to repeat!! I got my PADI open water in Providence island, Colombia and have also dived in the Canary islands. Obviously travelling, wine, live music, warm weather...

  • cooking
  • recipes
  • coffee
  • partying
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • windsurfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Literature was part of my studies. For university I mostly read English and American literature. Personaly, I adore "realismo mágico" in South american authors and whoever else experiments with it.
I love movies too. I don't get to go to the cinema a lot lately which is sad, I should try work on that and make time for it.
And music, who doesn't like that?? I'm yet to meet someone who doesn't although enthusiasm varies perhaps. I listen to music most of the day when I'm at home and is just part of life.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My semester's spent studying abroad in France and Brazil and coming home again.

Hitchhiking. The process of going through the emotions of knowing there's a risk, of worry you're going to be stranded, it's thrilling, but then everything works out fine and the feeling of having done something that's fun and free is always great.

Scuba diving with sharks (nice sharks) in the Caribbean. I also had a scary experience scuba diving in El Hierro island when we encountered very strong currents.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooking is always good. I've picked up a lot of different recipes over the years and enjoy learning more.
I can speak English and Spanish fluently if you need to practice.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Colombia, Czech Republic, Germany, Poland, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, France, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups